This is an estate?

There is a house about two doors up from us that has been empty for about four years.  Three years the homeowner was in a nursing home in Maryland.  She died a year ago and this weekend was the weekend they had an estate sale.  I have always thought an estate sale required an “estate” of some sort.  Not a mansion with massive acreage, but things of value.  A pair that apparently ‘handle” estate sales came into our neighborhood and held a two day sale.  There were cars coming and going the past two days (and parking in front of our driveway) from 9:00 am until 4:00 pm.  I did not bother to check it out.  I had been in the house when she was living and there was nothing of value in it at that time.  I did recognize her lawn mower, but they sold bottles of pain relievers and everything else.  Is that what consitutes an estate these days?  When I die are my leftover aspirin going to be put into the “estate sale”.  Lord, help me.

So, that was my big excitement.  That, plus the new stove.  They have gotten so cheap.  The grills are little round enameled thingies.  The back came bent and the delivery guys called me out and asked me I would accept it.  I went around the back and bent the stupid thing into place.  They just grinned at me.  At least the oven works.  On Sunday I baked Grover some wheat germ/babyfood turkey cookies.  He loves them and they are alot less expensive than the storeboughten ones.  The oven is a tad less hot than the last one which could incinerate a 20 lb. turkey in less that 3.5 hours.  It works and it’s installed and I’m happy.

I’m still knitting away on the Cosmo cardi, but I cast on for Peanut’s gift which has morphed about 4 or 5 times since I started planning 2 months ago.  I’m nearly done with the other legwarmer of the first pair for Lil Bit.  Nothing much to show.  I did finally get a picture of my completed Lady Charles mitts.  I wear them every morning walking the pup.  I love them.

111108pix-003

Oh, and that tail of yarn?  I did actually cut it and weave it in;–)

And, to round out this Monday morning?  My soundtrack today is “Riders on the Storm” by the Doors.

Have a good one!!

This entry was posted in knitting, soundtrack. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to This is an estate?

  1. margene says:

    BIG Riders on the Storm fan. The mitts look cozy and warm. Nothing is what it once was…nothing is as good and no one has any pride in what they do. They just want to make a quick buck and go home. Sad…at least it works and you’ll broke it in the right way.

  2. joyknits says:

    I guess “Estate Sale” is more likely to draw buyers than just “Junque Sale” ;) Yay for the new stove! At least the delivery guys *asked* – I always keep an oven thermometer in mine to check the temps anyhow, as I know mine is wonky.

  3. emicat says:

    I had for the longest time thought an estate sale was on an ‘estate’, but turns out I’m seeing it a lot more often now at any place where someone passed away and people selling off what used to be their belongings. But people buying pain relief medicine at an estate sale? That’s a new one on me.

    Great to hear that you’ve got the new stove set up, even if it came a little bent. It really sucks that things are made so cheap these days – I really hate that things don’t last as long as they should.

    I thought the yarn trailing off your thumb was the leash Master Grover had on you for your walks ;)
    It’s lovely and it sure looks warm. I hope to make me some Fetching as soon as I’m done with all the holiday knitting.

  4. Nora says:

    We auctioned off the contents of my parents’ home for about $1,000. It was very sad. No bottles of aspirin to be found, though. Cute mitts, and congrats on the new stove!

  5. marianne says:

    ManOman, Riders on the Storm. I just sat back, made myself comfy, because I knew when I clicked it the nickel would drop. A whole lotta memories to travel through with that tune.
    That Jim, such a naughty bad boy ;^) but whoa, their music was outstanding. sigh.

    Ewww, pain meds, etc, along those lines, and how old? blech. too strange. I hear you though on those ‘estate’ sales… meh.

    Yay on the new stove getting there, installed and baking Grover biscuits first thing, what a christening, er… you know what I mean.

    Your mitts are gorgeous :^)

  6. EEH says:

    For what it’s worth, estate is being used in the legal sense which means a person’s possessions/belongings. When you die, whatever you leave behind becomes your “estate” to be disposed of, hence an estate sale if your heirs are so inclined. Your home/land is part of the estate but in this case it has nothing to do with country manors. The selling of pain relievers is a new one on me, though!

    Those mitts are gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

