I don’t want to jinx it.

I have finally gotten the hang of the Corrugator Scarf. Oh, sure. Laugh away. It only took me four tries. All I can say is don’t start a pattern when you are on your second glass of wine.  I’d link the pattern, but everyone else has done it already.  It’s on Ravelry and it looks something like this when it is knit in Arucana Ranch.

July192009 001It’s really quite fun once I got the hang of it.  I know.  If I think too much about it, I’ll get depressed.  A simple 2 row pattern, for pity sakes.

I’m also still plugging away on the first stealth Christmas gift.  I’m pleased with it, but of course find fault at every turn.  Critical of my choices.  I think I have an unrealistic desire for my knitted presents.  Must work on that.  It looks lovely, though (if I look through my right eye.  My left eye is the critical one).

I have also been spinning.  I have found that I tense up sometimes.  Now, when that happens, I walk away unless I can work it out right away.  That has saved me from putting it away for weeks at a time.  I may be a slow learner, but I can learn.  There is hope.July192009 004

This is the oriental cactus.  It blooms.  If it blooms near Thanksgiving, it’s a Thanksgiving cactus.  If it blooms near Easter, it’s an Easter cactus.  You get the idea.  Well, it’s starting to set buds.  It’s gonna be a Labor Day cactus.  The flowers start out as little flat parts of the leaves that are pink.  The only ones I managed to get in the shot are just on the rim of the pot in the middle and just to the right of the middle of the top of the page.  Lame photography, but it’s such a fun plant.  Thanks to the wonderful world of internet, I found out that in the fall if you leave it out before the first hard freeze, it’ll set big and bunches of buds to bloom around Thanksgiving or if it’s early, Halloween.  Easy to grow, too.

Now, my soundtrack for this day is hauntingly beautiful.  A song written by Sting, but interpreted beautifully by Eva Cassidy.  I much prefer her version.  Sadly, she died in the late 90’s from melanoma.  Another bright star whose light went out too soon.

Have a good one!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I don’t want to jinx it.

  1. margene says:

    It’s hard to do something new when we’re grieving and that might be why Corrugater gave you so much trouble. It will speed by now that you’ve conquered its secret code. Eva Cassidy has an amazing voice.

  2. Emiko says:

    Heh, glad to know I’m not the only one who’s ever started a new pattern after their 2nd glass of wine ;) I can vouch for that one too heehee.

    Thanks for the tip on the cactus. I have one of those that we got from Bear’s aunt – I haven’t seen this one bloom yet.

  3. heideho says:

    Happy Wednesday Dear! I cast on a pattern the other day. Pictures of the finished products others have made look fabulous. The pattern itself isn’t difficult, but it requires following close attention. The problem is that I HATE knitting this particular item. There is no logical reason why, but for some reason the combination of stitches just doesn’t “click” for me. Rather than continue on I’m frogging the darned thing and starting something new.

  4. marianne says:

    Wow. Had not heard this by her, how amazing! and sad.
    Don’t be so hard on yourself, Sweets. It takes me time to learn a pattern, and it’s always a funny moment when it all clicks. I giggle. outloud.
    Mom gave me some cuttings off her plant and they’re doing quite well, it’s doubtful I’ll get blooms this year but… hers are that pretty red/orange colours, so I’m hoping I don’t kill it :^)
    Thank you for that beautiful tune. xox

  5. sophanne says:

    I too, am pretty proud of myself when mastering 2 row patterns. Seriously- I think they’re harder than some of the other ones… no, really. Would I humor you?

  6. Nora says:

    Sometimes ribbing, or even stockinette, presents a challenge to me… Yep, I get it!!

Leave a Reply

