Such is life………

I wrote a sympathy card this past week to someone I have never met in person, but with whom I feel a bond. In other words, a friend. Anyway, when I was writing the card, I had an epiphany of sorts. I realized that with every major loss in our lives, a small seed of sorrow is planted and, even though it won’t grow without much nourishment, it still sits in your heart forever.   We all need time to get through the actual grief of the loss, but eventually, we have the choice of either moving on, or fertilizing that seed.  I feel truly blessed that I was able to move on from my last major loss, but I do feel bad for those who can’t get past it.  I am not judging, for it isn’t my place to do so.  I’m just thinking how truly blessed I have been and continue to be.  Also, just remember, I’m a muser.  I think all the time and this is just another one of those times.  There are no names attached.

I’ve been thinking about this because we are, once again, entering the holiday season without Mom.  I can feel that little seed of sorrow, but know that it cannot grow any bigger.  I don’t ever want to not feel that seed in my heart.   That, to me, would be so sad.  But, I will always have to be vigilant not to let it grow.

And, on that note, I wish you a lovely Saturday evening.  I’ll be back to chat soon.  Have a good one!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Such is life………

  1. Marilyn says:

    Very well put. And something to remember.

  2. zeneedle says:

    You are a wise person with a full life and living well is a beautiful way to honor your mother.

  3. Cookie says:

    I just received a beautiful sympathy card. Huh.

    I agree with you. We all know people who carry their dead with them and make sure that there is always room for them at the table. Easy enough to do but at the cost of living people who might be more fun to have dinner with. If the seed takes hold, I imagine one would end up tending a very lonely garden.

  4. crafterscupboard says:

    Thanks so much for sharing this. It states so clearly yet so kindly something I have been thinking a lot about lately. (((((Hugs))))) I hope your holidays are filled with happiness and laughter.

  5. Wendy says:

    Lovely metaphor and very true. Thanks! I will try to keep the seed of that idea well-watered.

  6. Patty says:

    Great thoughts. ;-)

Leave a Reply

