Beyond the fringe…

Hello. It’s good to see you all. I’ve been away. Away as in not here, not actually out of the state, country or universe. I lost my mojo for the blog and have spent a good deal of time outside working on the back 40. It’s improving, but damn, there’s still a lot of work to do. I just finished spreading 8 bags of mulch and need about 6 more. That will come another day. I’m sore and tired and just took a shower so it ain’t happening today.
Next week or the week after. I want to get it done. It has been such a huge relief not to have to cut my own grass. I lost so much time recovering each week. Not because it’s so hard on me. We all know I’m a beast. It’s the allergy to grass that kicks my butt.

I’m currently knitting on my DSIL’s Christmas gift so no pics.  I love it and am enjoying the process and the product.

Tomorrow is Mother’s Day.  One of my least favorite holidays.  It was my Mom’s least favorite holiday.  She thought it insufferable.  I miss her.  Every single day.  Yet, I’m ok with her death.  I just finally came to the realization that I will miss her for the rest of my life.  I do not believe in heaven (I am a Christian, but it’s “eternal life” not heaven).  I believe our souls will meet again and we will know instantly that we mean something very special to each other.  If you are a Mom,  have a good day.  If you aren’t or you have lost your Mom, too, then remember with love or whatever emotion you have for your Mom.  It gets complicated.

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERAThis is one of my favorite pictures of her with her big baby boy, Groverthewonderdog.

My soundtrack is “Fever” by Rita Moreno and Animal.

Have a good one!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

 

This entry was posted in family, knitting, pets, soundtrack, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Beyond the fringe…

  1. heideho says:

    Mother’s Day makes Brian sad. It makes me miss my Grandmothers. It makes me feel uncomfortable and sad for women who have not been able to have babies, or who have had children who have passed away. Mother’s Day often overlooks Aunties, Friends, Teachers and even Dads (all capitalized intentionally) who fulfill the traditional “mother” role. That being said, I am thankful everyday for my own mother. I miss your writing and love when you are able to find time to share your wonderful self with everyone. I love the picture of your mom and Grover. They were great pals. My love to you!

  2. joyknits says:

    Wonderful photo of your Mum & Grover! I’m sorry I never got to meet her. Good to see you pop up – many hugs!

  3. zeneedle says:

    I’ve missed my Mom everyday for 25 years…even longer as she was sick for 3 years before. Mother’s Day has never been a favorite of mine, or of many mothers or non-mothers I know. My mom called it “scarf day” as so many of her friends got silk scarves from their children. Today I’ll be spending time with my friends who do not have children. We are not sad we didn’t follow that path. I, too miss your voice and wondered if you’d ever come back to writing the blog. There are times we need to live and not share our living with anyone else. Love you, sweet friend.
    xox

  4. Marilyn says:

    Well, here you are! I’ve been missing in action at my blog too. Just can’t think of a thing to say, I guess.
    I’ve had mixed feelings about Mother’s Day too. There are so many that wish they could be mothers and can’t for whatever reason. It just seems wrong to celebrate something they can’t have.

  5. Cookie says:

    You came from her. She gave you life. I think that connection makes it all the harder. Then again, at the 8 month mark, I think missing her daily is normal. <3

Leave a Reply

