Our blackberry winter

I’m back. It’s 55 and rainy. I feel like I live in London……..or, the Northwest. Yet, it was 87 only just yesterday. I heard someone refer to this as our blackberry winter. It is a colloquialism from hereabouts. It’s a cold snap in late spring. We are nothing if not folksy.

I kinda forgot to call the lawn guy last week, so my grass is going to seed after the lovely rain and cooler temps.  He’s gonna love me.  Thankfully, he’s a sweet guy.  Still, it’s cold and wet out there.  I just peaked out hoping the pup would go and take care of business when I saw something fly by soundlessly.  It was too small to be an owl, so I’m pretty sure it was a bat.  They are a good thing.  They consume massive amounts of mosquitoes.  If I don’t get my pond relined pretty soon, it’s gonna be an awful cesspool out there.  I am off next weekend for 5 days in a row and no matter if it’s rainy or cool or snowing, I will be relining the pond.  I need to get it seasoned so I can put the goldfish in before it gets hideously hot, and you don’t want goldfish in an unseasoned pond.  They tend to die.

See, I can post more than once in a blue moon (folksy, remember?).  My soundtrack for today is “He’s a Tramp” by Peggy Lee.  Enjoy.

This entry was posted in soundtrack, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Our blackberry winter

  1. zeneedle says:

    You’re getting the rain we had last week, but we’re heading into the delightful spring temps in the 70s and 80s. You work hard on your yard and I hope you also have time to sit back, relax and enjoy it. xox

  2. Marilyn says:

    We’ve had maybe 3-4 days of springlike weather. We are in a freeze warning for the next 2 nights. /sigh
    You have a pond? How wonderful! And goldfishes too? I’m envious.

Leave a Reply

