Summer in Middle Earth

 

It has been a pretty spectacular summer so far here in Middle Earth. We are hot today, but we have had some pretty gorgeous days in the 80’s, so whining is not allowed. I signed up for the Tour de Fleece once again with Team Cranky Pants and Team Dyeabolical Yarns. So far, I have fixed the drive band on the spinning wheel. Ripped the old spinning off the bobbins. I fear leaving the spun fiber on the bobbins for 3 years glued it all together. It currently looks like this.

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERAI was so put out by that stupid fiber (not Dave’s fault) that I just wadded it up and threw it away.  You can tell I didn’t even care if the picture was in focus.  So, now, I’m beginning on this.

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERARachel’s Dyeabolical Falkland fiber in the Ricky colorway.  I love it.  There will be more pictures when I actually have something on the bobbin to show you.

We have also been moulting here.

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERAThis is just a small sample of the fur the pup has been shedding since June.  I have it everywhere, inside and outside.  Tonythegrasscuttingguy is absolutely stunned by the sheer volume of it.  I take piles of it out to the garden area and just put it down there for the birds and animals to take.  The rug is a constant mess.  I’d blame it all on Grover, but Stinky adds her fair share.  Today, the boy went for a bath and day at camp.  He is exhausted, of course, but, happy.

I had to get a different car.  Frank, the Buick, had a case of terminal old crappy car disease, so he had to go.   I purchased a small used SUV thinking that the pup could get in and out without too much trouble.  Of course, I was wrong.  It is quite a distance for a 9 year old giant breed dog to go, so I bought him a ramp to get in and out of the car.  I also remembered that he is a guard dog breed so training was going to require the Steak ‘n Shake cheese Steakburger training method.  It only took 3 cheeseburgers to get him trained to use it and now he’s a champ.  He looks adorable in the cargo hold behind the seats.  He’s also quite a bit safer in that area.

Well, that’s what I’ve been up to.  Not particularly exciting, but that is how my life goes and I’m just okey-dokey with it.

Have a good one!!!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Summer in Middle Earth

  1. heideho says:

    Hooray for a new car. The Dyeabolical roving is beautiful. I’ve created wool “art” over time before, but mine wasn’t nearly as interesting as yours. Cheers!

  2. Marilyn says:

    The purple & pink fluff is very pretty!
    A new car is a good thing. We had a dog that couldn’t get in on her own… never thought of a ramp. We just boosted her in, which she didn’t much like.
    You could be spinning all the dog and cat fur…I’ve heard that its been done…. :)

  3. zeneedle says:

    Your world sounds like it’s pretty good, with the temperatures being comfortable, a new car that is fabulous, and a happily trained dog which is out of this world! Missed you, sweetie. Enjoy your pretty fiber and spinnin’ for the tour. xoxo

Leave a Reply

