Mr. Wizard was right.

Well, the floods are here. Or, at the very least, pretty darned close. That National Weather Service assures us that the floods will be nowhere near as bad as they were in 1993. Of course, these are the same folks that cannot predict a simple rainfall anywhere on the globe. I have come to the conclusion that when they get it right, it’s because they just got lucky in the weather lottery. And, if you want sad? Let’s chat about tornado warnings. Here in Middle Earth, we have tornado sirens. If you are near one, kiss your hearing goodbye. If you are not, good luck being warned. There is also a new policy (wouldn’t you love to know who comes up with this stuff?) that when a tornado is spotted in one county, the sirens will go off in the neighboring county the tornado is headed toward. I’ve lived here all my life and I have never ever heard of a one tornado going from county to county, unless this tornado formed close to the end of a county. When there are long stretches of tornado damage, it’s almost always caused by many tornados, not just one. I’ll bet you know what we all do. We ignore the tornado sirens that are supposed to save our lives, merely because they go off like party favors at midnight on New Year’s Eve. I’m talking about this, because it has a big impact on life in flood country. The Army Corps of Engineers has closed at least one lock on the Mississippi, which in turn shuts down river traffic. That, and the poor statue of Lewis and Clark and their Newfoundland that’s on the river front here in St. Louis, is under water again. It’s really strange when all that’s left showing is the hat in the hand. They’ve also had to close the gaming boats on the riverfront because nobody can walk the gangplanks. They’re under water.

I knit just a teensy bit on CeCe last night. I’m reconsidering the KAL for Goddess Knits. In fact, I’ve pretty much decided I do not want to set myself up for that kind of failure. I sorta forgot that I did not enjoy the last one I tried. I also ended up not really liking the style all that much. So, I’m probably just going to knit on with CeCe and my PurplePi. I really want to finish something I’ve started. That, and the Summer of Socks starts in a week, so I want to knit socks, most definitely. Unless, of course, my sock mojo decides to go on a road trip, like Margene’s. Besides, I have so many shawls and stoles in my queue at Ravelry, that I don’t think I’ll be wanting for shawl knitting for quite some time.

My picture today is our Wave petunias (I love these, they don’t need to be deadheaded) and some coleus that we have in pots on the deck. You all have a good one!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mr. Wizard was right.

  1. margene says:

    Need to find some Wave petunias…they sound perfect for patio gardens.
    The weather is just whacked! Do you think we’ll have a summer this year?

  2. olga says:

    Don’t have to dead head the wave petunias? oh. wish I knew that a week ago…..
    The sirens went off here yesterday and I still haven’t figured out why.

  3. Annie says:

    Regarding the tornado sirens, now on the news here they are saying that tornado sirens aren’t meant to be heard in your house. They are meant to warn people that aren’t inside. If you are inside you should be watching TV weather reports or listening to the radio, not relying on the sirens. Huh, I had never heard that before.

    I love your petunias!

  4. heideho says:

    I ditched the idea of the KAL as well and this morning I cast on the Irtfa Shawl by Anne Hanson. I’m going to start the Henley Perfected too so that I have some non-stressful knitting to offset the intense lace. I’m appalled that the warning systems in our country are so shoddy and useless. Good luck to everyone living back in that area. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

