Friday forecast

Continuing with my PSA that finally, today is Friday, I’ve come to the conclusion that titles are difficult after you’ve committed to one concept for more than one or two posts. Writing is hard. Good writing is harder. Great writing is not something you’ll ever find here. Still, I’m thrilled that you do come by. I miss you when you don’t. When I started this blog, I was doing it for fun. I was a little bored at work and decided to have an online journal and talk about my knitting. That was three years ago this July. All I can say is, WOW! I still enjoy the process and find myself thinking about my life in terms of blog posts (not all the time).

I had a meeting last night, so I did not get much knitting done (only 1/2 row on CeCe). I have to have the car worked on tomorrow and guess what I’m doing????? Yup. I hate just sitting there and since the Mum can’t drive anymore, I’m trapped. So, I’ll knit. I’m not even slightly unhappy. I’ll wander over after we go to the farmer’s market and spend the time knitting away. It’s amazing how knitting has changed my view of so-called downtime. I no longer feel like a rat trapped on a sinking ship. I’m busy and happy and if I get tired of knitting (what????), I can read a bit.

Do you have big plans for the weekend? Not me. I just told you my big plans. I have noticed a definite change since the gas prices became obscene. I notice more people on their front porches reading and chatting. I haven’t seen much of that since I was a kid and most people only had one car. I see them on my way to work and on my way home. I really do wonder how much completely unnecessary driving we all were doing before this jolt?

I did actually drop from the Goddess Knits Mystery Shawl-a-long. I figured I didn’t even want to get the emails. I applaud their enthusiasm, but I’m being a bit more forgiving of myself for not wanting to join the pack. I don’t need another deadline or competitive knit. It doesn’t bother me a bit when people like to race, but when the whole thing becomes an albatross around my neck I want out. The Summer of Socks will be a bit less demanding. I plan on knitting a pair of socks this summer. No pressure. Just a pair of socks. I would also like to finish (SSS) about four others. That’s all. I love socks and I love seeing everyone else’s. And, if socks don’t float your boat, how about mittens, hats or scarves? I like the sense of community. Maybe that’s it.

So, on that random rumination, you all have a great weekend!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Friday forecast

  1. margene says:

    The community brought me here, the community keeps me here. At first I loved the Alongs and such. It’s fun when you’re enthusiastic and blogging is new….not so much when you figure out it’s just another dead line. We’re old enough to do our own thing and not follow the crowd. Enjoy your quiet weekend, grrlfriend.

  2. Cookie says:

    I agree with Margene.

    Swaps and alongs were fun at the beginning, but quickly showed me that I don’t see knitting the way other do and that’s a good thing.

    Frankly, I wonder about people who can’t knit without being in an along. Ya know?

    Happy Weekend!

  3. Annie says:

    I signed up for one along, and I never even started it. Ooops. No big weekend plans. Well, we might start haying if the weather holds. I’ll be happy to get that field cut and in the barn.

  4. heideho says:

    Our gas prices hit 4.39 9/10 per gallon today. It makes me feel panicky. All we can do is travel less and plant a bigger garden right now. We should form a “Ditched the Knit Along” club! Cheers!

  5. olga says:

    Hi there! I’m a knit-a-long drop out and proud of it. I fell out of the sockamania , just could not keep up and now I have about a billon sock patterns and I’ll never get them knit in 45 life times.
    Hey, want to start a knit along of drop outs? just kidden.

Leave a Reply

