Is it me???????

I’m beginning to believe I’m a shit magnet. Seriously. My boss was critically injured in a car wreck on June 4th. He’s still in ICU. Of course, he’s 73 and has had a liver transplant and lung cancer, but that’s a long time to be in ICU. Then, last Wednesday a co-worker’s beloved dog died. Friday my friend Frannie’s mother died and then yesterday, my dear “D” called and told me his Grandmother was close to death and this morning at 7:00 a.m. my BSIL called to tell me that Peanut’s fabulous cat “Jack” had to be put to sleep due to kidney failure and related issues. Then, this morning around 11:30 a.m., “D”s Grandma died. If I care about you, stay the hell away for a while, K? I’m concerned about my boss for many reasons, but mostly, he’s my friend and I’m not sure he’ll ever really recover. Frannie’s mom has been suffering from Alzheimer’s for years, but it still is a painful loss. “D”‘s grandmother hd=sf Alzheimer’s and I feel she decided somewhere deep inside that she was done here, just from something he said last week. As for Peanut’s cat? Jack was a rescue kitty. Black and beautiful. She loved him with all her heart. This is a painful and difficult loss for her. I think this is one of the most difficult aspects of rescuing an animal. Their life experiences until you are, unknown and if known, often horrific. Still, saving an animal enriches you. Not just them. My strays are more special to me than any pure bred animal I could ever buy. They’ve taught me so much about myself that I cherish each and every one. Dylan Thomas lived for 9 years. Nine years of love and joy and devotion. Boo Boo Kitty lived 10 years. She was my brave kitty. Conquering her fears to be with us and stay with us. Grover is our protector and snugglepuppy. He’s a big slobbering goofball that will tear into anyone that threatens the Mum. Each life, too short, but oh so sweet.

So, I have been knitting. Here’s PurplePi. A wad of knitting on 60” cable circular needles. It’s big, but not big enough. I keep just knitting on it. I have at least one more increase and then I’ll see where I am. If I’m satisfied, then I’ll start the ruffled edge. Oh, and BTW, I did join something. It’s the 10 minutes of spinning each day. I can commit to that. I need to improve. I just keep working at it, sporadically, and never get any better. If I do the spinning 10 minutes a day, I might actually finish and improve. What a concept! Thanks, Margene.

My Mum still hasn’t’ untangled my Puesta del Sol mess. That remains to be finished. She works on it a bit every night. We should get it done by next spring. Maybe. Now, I’m working on some roving I got I know not where from a fleece I know not what. I’ve always known this would happen. If I ever find out what it is, I’ll let you know. Still, it’s very very pretty. I’ll take a picture when there is something to show.

You all have a good one!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Is it me???????

  1. heideho says:

    Oh dear, I’m sorry to hear about all of the losses to those within your circle. Instead of thinking of yourself as a “shit magnet” maybe you should think of yourself as a well of strength who cares deeply and provides comfort to all around you. Pi is lovely.

  2. margene says:

    So much sadness for you and your friends. I agree with heideho…you are the cause of the problem, you’re there to offer solace. They need you.

  3. Annie says:

    I’m sorry for your losses. Sending good thoughts your bosses way.

  4. Trudy says:

    Hey you–please don’t think of yourself as anything less than a deeply caring friend who just wants the best for her friends. Just your caring for them so deeply will have a good effect on them—just the opposite of what you said:( Everyone’s friends are going through bad times, and the older we seem to get, the more true it gets. There is so much sorrow around, but it makes the Light seem so much brighter!

    Sending thoughts and prayers for the ones who have sickness and for your losses… and for Peanut’s loss of Jack–the black and beautiful little friend! I know the heartsick feeling of losing a pet, too–I’ve lived, loved and lost so many, and I still know each’s name and miss each still. I guess it’s the main reason I’ve not gotten another cat–the losses hurt more everytime.

  5. Cookie says:

    We all go through periods of time where the losses pile up. It’s a strange part of a life shared with others. We share our pain, but also share our joy and success. I think that’s makes it worth while. Please don’t think it’s you because it’s not. It’s just another part of life.

    xo

  6. Sonya says:

    Ok, that is the one and only time you get to refer to yourself that way. That is quite alot to deal with all at once. It can’t continue that way much longer, so very soon things have to change for the better.
    Just be the listening ear that they need.

Leave a Reply

