Square needles, review…..ish

I tend not to recommend things or new products. I don’t believe that my opinion should shape anyone’s decision, yet I do like it when I read that someone I respect likes or dislikes a product. I bought the square needles a month or so ago and decided this past weekend to try them out. When the humidity gets out of control, my arthritis acts up, so I figured this was as good a time as any to give them a shot. I like them. I don’t want to knit with them all the time. I don’t like them that much. But, I knit a cotton warshrag in about 2.5 hours with them and my hands did not complain at all.

It’s not fancy, but it was a great test knit for the needles. If your hands hurt when you knit and you don’t knit on circulars, they’re good. If you knit with circulars a lot like I do, then you might not want to pay the $20+ for them. I plan on using them whenever it’s convenient, which won’t be all that often. We did need a new dish rag, so it was a good test and use of time.

I left work early yesterday and went to see the boss. He’s still in ICU,but he looks much better. He’d been battling a fever for two days before yesterday, so I was expecting him to be pretty bad, but he smiled at me when I went in and looked at me hard. I’m not sure he even has a clue who I am, but he responded well and I’m encouraged. After that I needed fiber therapy so I headed over to a LYS to see about pink yarn. I know. I know. I just really have fallen hard for pink. I ended up getting a skein of sock yarn (because you always need sock yarn) for my first SOS ’08 pair. Ya think it’s pink enough?????

It’s Cotton Candy from Pagewood Farms and it’s Merino, Bamboo and Nylon. It’s splitty, but incredibly soft. And, you know what else??????? I met a Ravelry friend, RMS. She is delightful. She had on the coolest glasses I have ever seen. And, she knits to beat the band. Seriously, I was thrilled and she was very sweet to me. And, the shop had some shawl yarn that I thought was amazing. It had 1450 yards and was stretchy. Of course, I cannot remember the name, but it was $80/skein. A tad rich for my blood right now (do you remember me saying I wasn’t buying yarn right now? me neither), but definitely something I would love to try. The colors were deep and rich and jewel-like. Brooke, one of the owners, had knit a shawl with it, and it was stunning. I guess that was inconsiderate because I can’t tell you what it was. I apologize.

The soundtrack of my life, today?  “What are you doing the rest of your life? “.  My version today is by Frank Sinatra.  What’s yours?

Have a good one!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Square needles, review…..ish

  1. margene says:

    Pink! I like to think I had something to do with that choice. 😉 The shawl yarn sounds lovely, if decadent. You deserve it, maybe when you finish Pi. As a reward?
    Just heard Youngbloods Darkness, Darkness…love that song!

  2. Nora says:

    My soundtrack is the jackhammers on the roof of my building… I’m going nuts.

    Love the pink. What’s the scoop with the square needles? Why do they hurt the hands less? Mine have been feeling some repetitive stress this week…

  3. Cookie says:

    You like pink? What kind of person likes pink?

    Today is men hammering with a side of barky dogs… again. o.0

  4. Amy says:

    Thanks for the review of the square needles, I’ve been wondering about them. Looove the pink yarn.

Leave a Reply

