Happy July Oneth!

Yes, folks, it’s the first of July. We are closing in on the halfway point of summer. And, how the hell did that happen? Huh???? It’s just getting warm enough to be mildly whiny about the heat and humidity. I’m not melting and threatening to whack off my hair. I just hope that this isn’t a harbinger of the winter to come. I don’t really want or need another winter like last year. If that’s the case I best get off my butt and get a move on. I have a lot of things to do before fall. And, the tragic part of all this is that none of it is knitting related. I know. I know. There. There. It’s alright. I’m hyperventilating, too. Still, I have windows to glaze and paint. A porch and foundation to paint and a deck to wash and seal. It won’t get done by complaining, so I best get that move on. You might have noticed how this all involves drying time. Yup. The extra foot of rain this year has made getting the chores done almost impossible.

I live in a bucolic little town outside the city of St. Louis. We have crime. Everybody has crime, but seldom does that crime come into my little neighborhood. Yesterday when I got home from work there was a police car down the street and the policeman (I was taught that the word cop was disrespectful and I have trouble getting past that) had a kid/young man up against the car and they were yelling at each other. Before long, the kid/young man was in cuffs and in the back of the car. The excitement never ends here. I tell ya.

So, can you tell I have nothing about knitting to share? With this secret knitting (and I’m pretty sick of it) I’m unable to share all the fun and games of ripping and knitting the two things I’ve been working on this past week. I’m getting ready to pick up PurplePi again, because Esau Marie’s channeling of her discontent is about to drive me out of my mind. I’m yelled at all the time. This morning at 5:30 a.m., Esau Marie came in, jumped on the bed and stood next to my head and yelled. Of course, she can’t help it. She’s psychic and it’s all PurplePi’s fault. It has to be hard to be a kitty-medium in a kitty-large body.

So, my soundtrack this morning is The Duke Spirit and The Step and The Walk. I first heard them on Margene’s post about the soundtrack of her life (great one, too) and then, yesterday, my very own local community radio station KDHX played it at lunch. It’s haunting and very retro. What’s doing it for you today?????

Have a good one.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy July Oneth!

  1. joyknits says:

    You just *had* to remind me that we’re halfway through the year, eh? At least right now it’s not as hot as it can be in July. Esau Marie sounds like our Amber, except that I don’t think Amber’s channeling anything but “feed me!” at o’dark hundred 😉

  2. margene says:

    I heard about an “animal communicator” yesterday. Maybe she can find out just what’s up with Esau Marie. The day here is less than stellar. 😦

  3. emicat says:

    Hey Cindy!!! Thanks for your comment and sorry I’ve been away for awhile. Before I knew it, I realized I’d been away from the blogisphere for month!

    Looks like I have a lot of blog reading to catch up on.

    I’ve been busy and/or mopey and didn’t feel like much of anything (haven’t touched my knitting in a month too).

    Hope to snap out of it soon. Thanks for checking in on me. It’s always nice to know you’re being thought of 🙂

Leave a Reply

