The Wednesday before the Fourth of July, or Thursday in white collar world

This is a strange week, kids. Each day something else reminds me that the world is changing and it may not be a good thing for you and me. I refuse to be maudlin, but I do wonder if the obscene increases in gasoline prices resulting in obscene increases in every other thing might just be internal terrorism. Our amazing, yet inept, government calls everything else terrorism, including a poor briefcase on a platform inadvertently left by its owner (IT’S A BOMB!!!), why not this? It would/could be a very effective way to bring us to our knees. I’d go on, but I’m losing interest and, honestly, does it matter anyway? I just loves me a good conspiracy theory.

So, I did my spinning last night. I spun for a half hour and loved it. I’m enjoying the intent of focus of the spinning. It’s like knitting, but not like knitting. You must focus (usually) when you knit, but the focus in spinning uses a different part of my brain (I’m not qualified to talk about your brain, mine is pathetic enough to be easy to talk about). I just reread this paragraph. Gad, how stupid is It’s like knitting, but not like knitting????? I’m leaving it in to reiterate my ability to blither. No thought process is safe from me. I can obliterate any subject and I will. Just give me a minute.

I finally broke down and bought a book that I believe that every other single lace knitter in the universe owns. Mine is so new that it’s a paperback. All the others I’ve seen in blogworld have been hard bound. It’s A GATHERING OF LACE by Meg Swansen. Can you believe that I didn’t have it before now? Me, neither, but in my defense, I didn’t know it had so many gorgeous shawls in it. That, and socks, too! My list of “to do” knitting just keeps growing and growing.

So, today, with nothing fibery new to show, I will leave you with our brand new Moonbeam Coreopsis. It’s just a baby, but seems very happy in its new home. Have a good one!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Wednesday before the Fourth of July, or Thursday in white collar world

  1. margene says:

    My thoughts have been along the same line. Oil speculators don’t even need to be in the country so who knows who is driving up the price of oil. In any case, whomever is buying futures at todays prices is a terrorist.
    Better late than ever to GOL. That book will inspired you forever.
    My soundtrack today is Bob…Nashville Skyline.

  2. sophanne says:

    I know exactly what you mean by it’s like knitting but not like knitting. I’m no brain expert either. No soundtrack in my head. I’m enjoying the quiet.

  3. Nora says:

    😉 Can’t wait to see some of those patterns… that’s a wonderful book. Beyond my capabilities at this point so I’ll just leaf through it in stores and admire.

  4. Annie says:

    I love moonbeam coreopsis, so why is it I don’t have any? I don’t think I would have survived the past couple of years without spinning. Seriously.

  5. olga says:

    Hey- I don’t have that book either so your one up on me. I never thought that maybe it is domestic terrorism they are inflicting on us. huh, good theory.

  6. Amy says:

    Coreopsis is lovely. It’s one of my favorites.

Leave a Reply

