Short row toes 7, Cindy 0

I tried Cookie’s short rows tutorial. And, then, I tried Cookie’s short rows tutorial. I tried 5 more times before declaring defeat. I’m overanalyzing or overreading or something! It sure isn’t the tutorial. It’s me. So, since I was completely defeated (for the time being), I just started a cuff down sock. It’s Nancy Bush’s Wishbone Sock from the March/April Piecework. This is a very very pretty sock, but once again, the lace is carried down the foot and I have issues with lace on my feet, so I’ll just do my cuff and then plain stockinette down the foot. It’s an enjoyable knit.

I also did my 10 Minutes a Day for about 20 minutes yesterday. I had an epiphany. I don’t think I have more than 2 or 3 oz. of the fiber. I haven’t been spinning it super thin, so I guess it will be a small amount of handspun for accent in another project. That’s ok. I am a process knitter and, most definitely, a process spinner.

Miss PurplePi is languishing in the knitting bag. Until we get moderating temperatures, she’s staying there. Sticky wool on my lap? No, thank you.

I return to the working world today. Glad for the job. Could use some more time off. And, what else is new?

My soundtrack today? The Spencer Davis Group with little known singer, Stevie Winwood. Gimme Some Lovin’. I have loved this song since the first time I heard it. The video is cheesy and they are most definitely lip-synching, but I absolutely adore this song and it makes me happy. You can’t ask for anything more from music, can you?

BTW, I will try the toe up short tow method from Cookie’s tutorial. I’m certain it’s my frame of mind right now. Things are a bit worrisome. Not horrible, just worrisome. We all go through these things. Not to worry. I’ll work it out. You have a good one! It’s Wednesday! Yay!!!!!!

This entry was posted in knitting, soundtrack, spinning, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Short row toes 7, Cindy 0

  1. margene says:

    I’m a huge Stevie Winwood fan and yesterday after Vicki posted about him I couldn’t get Mr. Fantasy out of my head (we’ve talked about that very song, right?) I hope your worrisome things work themselves out in a positive way soon.

  2. Nora says:

    Love Steve Winwood, and I love the color of your sock! The toe-up/short row is nifty, but the fact is if you can knit a sock top down, you can knit a sock. So don’t sweat it.

    xo

  3. heideho says:

    I love the sock pattern, what yarn are you using? I hope that work goes well and everyone is pleasant. I’ve never attempted a short row heel. I tried a toe up sock once and it was a complete disaster. Cheers!

  4. Cookie says:

    I’m sorry it didn’t work for you. Please let me know if I can help, but I will totally understand if you’re just done.

    Lovely yarn color.

  5. Annie says:

    I can’t wear lace on my foot either. Even on the cuff causes difficulties with putting on the sock. I have a wayward pinkie toe that gets stuck.

  6. emicat says:

    Yes, inquiring minds want to know, what yarn did you use for that sock? 🙂

  7. Amy says:

    That pink is really pretty. I hate it when I try and try and can’t get something to work out.

  8. Julie says:

    I’m not sure whether it’s the short-row toe you’re trying to conquer, or just some way to make a toe-up sock. I have done short-row toes & heels, and have discovered a toe I like much better — look for “Magic cast-on for toe up socks” by Judy Benner in the Knitty.com archives. No provisional cast on required; no wrapping and turning & dealing with gaps. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

