Listen my friends

Good morning! It’s Thursday and it’s lovely and it’s time once again to give you the minute update of my knitting and spinning. I am still spinning 10 +/- daily and loving it. If you spin and it makes you happy, this is the way to go. And, I’m actually able to do it and accomplish something. I worked on PurplePi last night and she is at that stage of development where you know she’s growing, but can’t see it to save your life. I thought I was very close to the edging, but now that I’ve looked at her with a more critical eye, I can see she needs quite a bit more before I can start her edging. It’s ok. I have the yarn and the desire to do it so that I’m thrilled when she’s completed.

We are now in the dog days of summer. I don’t mind. It was a long long long cold winter. I just wish my allergies weren’t so bad. This is one case where mind over matter doesn’t really work very well. And, since I’m an organic gardener, we have yards full of wild flowers. It may make a lawn perfectionist sick, but I love our pretty little flowers. I saw a honeybee in the front yard working on the clover and realized I’d rather have the honeybee than a short tidy yard, so the grass won’t be cut for a bit. I hadn’t really seen a honeybee for 2 or 3 years, so this was a big deal.

The soundtrack of my day? Omaha by Moby Grape. Have a listen. It’s good music.

And, finally, a daylily from our yard. It’s really a deeper burgundy/red. Have a good one!

This entry was posted in gardening, soundtrack, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Listen my friends

  1. margene says:

    Our dog days are not so bad this year as we’re sitting in the 90s with no humidity and no need for a/c. A little here, a little there and PP will be finished and your spinning will grow. I’ll take clover in a lawn any day. It reminds me of looking for four leaf clovers as a kid and lolling in the grass all day….sigh. That’s how we made it through a long hot summer.

  2. margene says:

    Oh and my soundtrack goes WAY BACK. It’s Billy Holiday, Night and Day and My Man. LOVE her.

  3. Nora says:

    Your lily is fabulous! We’ve got more clover and creeping charlie in our lawn than grass. We like it that way!

  4. emicat says:

    Yes, the sight of honeybees is a good thing!

    Your lily is beautiful! Love that deep burgundy colour.

  5. heideho says:

    What a beautiful lily! I had to give up spinning because I’m out of roving… there is some wool here, but it belongs to my middle daughter. Putting chemicals and tons of water on a lawn is bad for the environment too. I love little honey bees and the big, fat bumbles too.

Leave a Reply

