Sometimes

The weekend was lovely. I hope yours was, too. I spent a bit of time with a new project. I’m having difficulty with socks. I’m almost certain this has to do with signing up for Summer of Socks ’08. I was fine until I started a pair of summer socks. The pink socks. I don’t know what switch got turned off, but it did and I ended up ripping the sock. There was absolutely nothing wrong with the sock. It was quite beautiful. But, I was not in love. I wasn’t even in like. This is what happened.

It’s a small scarf. It’s soft and lovely and the merino/bamboo are a perfect fit. I even spent an hour spinning. It was a great weekend. The weather on Sunday was incredible, so I did some yard work and then, knit outside. Lovely.

Sometimes the music means more than you wish it did. This song is forever burned in my brain. I had not thought about it for many years and Margene reminded me of Tim Buckley and his brilliance burning out too soon. And, his son, Jeff, who died too early as well. The memories I have that are related to the song are still a bit difficult, yet I would not be the person I am if I had not experienced what I did. So, I suppose, in the long run, I’m grateful. And, the music still lingers in my heart and soul. For that I am grateful, as well.

It’s the beginning of a new week. Possibilities. Have a good one!

This entry was posted in knitting, soundtrack, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sometimes

  1. margene says:

    That is a very pretty scarf! I’m enjoying scarf knitting much more than sock knitting. Tim Buckley’s music is always haunting. He and his son had such rich voices that were lost to us too soon.

  2. heideho says:

    Beautiful scarf! I’ve really got to get back to knitting, I took a couple of days off to clean. Blech. I’ve never heard of the song before, but I’ll go check it out.

  3. Cookie says:

    Maybe it was meant to be a scarf and not socks.

  4. joyknits says:

    Looks like it might be much happier as a scarf – really pretty!

  5. emicat says:

    That’s a great pattern on the scarf – love it!

Leave a Reply

