Where there’s smoke, there’s hummingbird nectar

When in doubt, don’t walk away from the kitchen when you are boiling something on the stove top. My lesson of yesterday. I should have known I was attempting too much. I had, after all, successfully changed a windshield wiper blade all by myself. I watered everything (so we had 2″ of rain last night). I was finishing up because I didn’t feel good (again already, it’s allergy season) and had put water and sugar in a sauce pan to boil for hummingbird nectar. I walked away and got involved in other things including phone conversations. I was finishing my shower about 2 hours later when I stepped out of the shower and smelled smoke and coughed. The smoke was roiling down the hall. I came running out to find my Mom making her way out of the house and Grover right with her with the smoke roiling out the door after them. I found the culprit hummingbird nectar blackened mess and threw it in the sink and added water, but I wasn’t going to be let off that easy. I had to open the house and turn on the furnace fan and every ceiling fan in the house. It took about 45 minutes to get it to a safe level. After it all settled down I realized we did it all wrong. Mom should have pressed her Al*rt On* button and headed out. She didn’t . When I got out of the shower, I should have called 911. I didn’t. I’m not sorry, but it did amaze me that I assumed that I would be able to handle the situation. How long before I would have called 911? No idea. Hope I never have to find out. This was sobering enough, thank you. And, this morning I can still smell a bit of smoke, but it isn’t that bad. So, a bad day ended well. The only casualty was a good sauce pan and hummingbird nectar. Easily replaced.

I’m still working on the scarf. I think she is lovely. I want to finish her because I want to knit something else. I need to start something else, but with the summer heat I don’t really know what. Not lace. I’m monogamous when it comes to lace. Nothing else. This comes from an ability to confuse myself. I tend to alternate patterns when trying to knit two lace projects. Everything comes out lacy, but not particularly attractive. Of course, last night I didn’t get to knit much due to the sudden breakout of “stupid”.

I do have a picture of the little pink scarf. She is pretty isn’t she? She is also very very soft.

My soundtrack for today is Janis, again. This time it’s the first song I ever heard by her and Big Brother and the Holding Company. You have to get half way through this YouTube video to get to the song, but it is so worth the effort. Have a good one!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Where there’s smoke, there’s hummingbird nectar

  1. margene says:

    Oh dear dog! If I had a nickel…glad you are all safe and the only casualty was a saucepan.
    I believe the first song I heard by Janis was Ball and Chain. That’ll be my soundtrack today.

  2. emicat says:

    Whoa, I’m glad everyone is ok. I almost started a huge fire when I was talking to someone out on the patio, forgetting that I had some green beans frying in a hot pan with oil. It took a few days to get the smokey smell out.

    Now I’m totally paranoid about staying stoveside so that I don’t have a “sudden breakout of stupid” either.

  3. Cookie says:

    Thank goodness everyone is alright. You’re lucky a neighbor didn’t see the smoke and call 911.

    The scarf is lovely. How about socks next?

  4. Amy says:

    I’m glad the saucepan was the only caualty.

    The pink scarf is a beauty.

  5. Julie says:

    Glad you found it before it got worse. I probably would have “done it all wrong” too, handling it myself instead of calling emergency services.

Leave a Reply

