Mid week and what do I have to show for it?

It’s Wednesday.  I intend to win the Lottery tonight.  I hedged my bets (hahahaha) and bought a Power Ball and a Missouri Lotto.  I will win one or the other, I’m certain.  The odds are not good.  I buy an average of 1 ticket a month each year, maybe less.  Still, I’m feeling good about it because I actually did purchase the tickets.  A dear friend of mine once called the lotteries, the “DUMB TAX.”  I agree.  Yet, in these troubled times, just the idea of having money to spend to visit friends and see the world.  Quit my job.  Fix the house.  Just have fun for a bit.  It sounds so nice.  It’s also a pipe dream, but I think it’s fun, once in a while, to dream a bit, don’t  you?   So, dream a little dream with me.  I would visit Heide , Margene (I have others I’d like to visit, but haven’t been invited) and go to Paris, London, visit Scotland and Italy.  I would contribute sums to animal rights organizations including the Missouri Humane Society which rescues animals from flood stricken areas.  I would give to my church.  I would get my family members out of debt and pay off student loans.  I would buy world peace, stop child and elder abuse and cure all diseases.  Whatever I could.  I would not move.  Our house is big to me these days.  I don’t want a bigger house.  And, you know what else I would do?  I’d buy cashmere and silk to spin and knit, not just for me, but for you.  What a lovely dream.

So, now back to reality.  No knitting or spinning yesterday.  Meetings and heat.  There is something about heat indeces of 103+ that make me unwilling to touch wool.  Bad storms and heavy rains  tomorrow.  I’ll be able to cope then.  Still, I can feel a change in the days.  This morning I awakened in the dark.  Dawn is not until after I get up and go out with Grover.  We still have daylight when we walk, but I can feel that waning as well.  We are in a full court press to fall and winter.  August 1 is this Friday.  Where has our summer gone?  I know it’s been cool  and extremely wet.  That put the summer off until late June, early July.  Now, we’re going into August and I have a strange feeling we’re in for another wild ride for fall and winter.  Oh, good.  Still, I don’t want to miss any of it.  The changing seasons keep me here in Middle Earth.  We have them all fairly well spread out.  Each one is a treasure in and of itself.

So, my song of the day is unavailable on YouTube.  It’s another Manhattan Transfer rendition.  This one is “A Nightingale Sang in Barkley Square.”

What are you hearing today?  What are your dreams?

Have a good one!

This entry was posted in soundtrack, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mid week and what do I have to show for it?

  1. margene says:

    I would buy a different house but mostly do the things you’d do with millions of lotto winnings. I buy a green house, an efficient and easy to keep house in the mountains, the lower mountains so there isn’t too much snow come winter. I’ve got a song stuck in my head today but I don’t know the name or artist. I think I need a new ear worm.

  2. heideho says:

    Sigh, what a lovely dream… can I dwell in your winning spot for awhile? I never want to move again, but then again, I do want a self-sufficient compound someplace. What a tough decision to make that would be. I can’t even imagine not struggling each month to make ends meet or not feeling guilty about spending too much on groceries. No soundtracks yet this morning… just a high frequency humming, a residual noise from yesterday’s migraine. Cheers!

  3. Annie says:

    You are invited to come to Maple Corners at any time!

    Ok, my earworm is Paperback Writer. Friends from KC, MO were up a couple of weekends ago, brought their guitar and mandolin. Parts of the song were played, and have been in my head ever since. Oy!

  4. Cookie says:

    It has gotten cooler here, too. Makes me think fall is coming. Perhaps a hard winter. However, I’m not sure Mother Nature is ready to take summer away yet.

    Best of luck on winning and living out those dreams.

  5. Amy says:

    Good luck with the Lottery!!

Leave a Reply

