More ponderin’

I sit here with my beautiful roving from Annie.  I love this stuff.  It is softer and more luxurious than anything I have ever owned.  I feel decadent.  Yet, I am unwilling to spin it.  Why?  Well,  I think it boils down to the fact that I haven’t really spun all that much.  I have spun, maybe, 6 skeins.  My teacher told us that with spinning as with computers, garbage in garbage out.  She was over-simplifying for her students.  She could spin dryer lint and cigarette filters and make it look lovely.  I think she was really just trying to get us to relax and enjoy the process.  I do, but I don’t want to screw up my beautiful roving.  Because of that, I’m going to spin something else first.  That way I can start on my JESAS roving when the weather turns cooler.  I’m also a bit distracted right now (that whole change thing I chatted about yesterday).  It would certainly break my heart if I screwed it up.  There is alot of roving there, but I don’t want to mess it up and since I’m so hesitant and distracted, I will work on it in a month or so.  I know I’ve suffered over this a bit much, but I don’t treat myself luxuriously all that often, so I want this to be the yarn for a lace shawl just por moi.

Hopefully, I will have a skein or two to show before starting the epic spinning for the shawl.  So much to do, so little time.  PurplePi has been in seclusion due to the intense heat this week.  Esau Marie has not hollered near as much, so the Pi seems to be accepting her fate well this time.  Of course, when the weather cools, all bets are off!  In fact, the “kids” Esau Marie and Grover have been quite sweet this week.  I took the big boy to the cageless kennel on Sunday morning about 8:00 a.m.  He had been showing signs of fearful aggression.  Bad enough in a smaller dog.  Horrible and frightening in a giant breed dog.  I dropped him off at 8:00 a.m. and picked him up about 3:45 p.m.  He was exhausted and wet (from the doggy pool) and happy as a clam.  His aggression appears to be in check.  He needed socialization with “the kids” at the kennel.  We will have to do this every 3 months or so to prevent him from becoming aggressive with other dogs.  He adores people.  Children, elderly, anybody.  Loves them to death.  Other dogs have always been a little bit of a problem.  I think it’s me.  I’m more fearful for him than I should be and other people’s reactions to him have always bothered me.  Overprotective mommy, I guess.  That, plus the nerves from the distraction due to changes thing, have made him more nervous than he should be.  I’m feeling less distracted just talking about it.  That, and the realization that this is life and I need to get over myself.  Sometimes I infuriate myself.  Do you think this could be a control issue?  Ya think?

School starts in our district this Monday (August 11th).  I’m very very happy.  We have bands of homornal teenagers wandering the streets and I will be very happy to get their sorry butts back into school.  They are so annoying.  I am not sure any of them mean any harm, they’re just jerks.  Like most teenagers.  Of course, I was in no way a jerk when I was a teenager.  Honestly.  I was an angel.  Really.  Really and truly.  Probably just like you.  Of course, we all had to start somewhere, but I was a perfect angel.  Just ask my Mom.  I’m sure she remembers me as a perfect child.  My brothers are a different story.  They were ill-behaved little renegades.

My soundtrack for the day?

This song rings true today more than ever, I’m afraid.  We seem to forget our cautionary tales and, that learning from our history?  Yeah, whatever.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to More ponderin’

  1. margene says:

    I’ve been singing that song too much lately. Steven Stills and the rest of the BS were so good! Where are the young people today? Guess they aren’t being forced to war like we were.

  2. Amy says:

    I was a wonderful teenager. I never rolled my eyes or anything.

  3. Nora says:

    I was a terrible teenager, but I have a teenager who is really quite tolerable.

    Go figure.

    xo

  4. emicat says:

    I don’t think I was a real pain in the arse (as I am now) when I was a teen. I just remember getting into fights w/ my little sister all.the.time.

    We’re much nicer to each other now though 🙂

  5. Annie says:

    The roving will wait there patiently until you feel you’re ready. I think you’re probably ready already, but what I think doesn’t matter.

    Your cageless kennel deal sounds wonderful. I’m glad Grover came back happy.

  6. heideho says:

    I spent much of my free time working, but I was a typical teenager. No drugs or bad stuff, just normal smart-assed know it all. That song came out the year I was born. For some reason I thought it came out in the 1970’s.

    Do they make cageless kennels for kids? Mine are driving me insane and they don’t go back until the 27th.

    I’ve started looking for a job again… hopefully at the school district my girls go to so I will have the same days off. Not much else happening out this way. Hugs to you all!

Leave a Reply

