Hello? Is there anybody out there? Can anybody hear me?

Do you know the song reference?  Kudos if you do.  I hate when somebody does that.  In my mind I’m singing the song from Hee Haw……”Where oh where, are you tonight?  Why’d you leave me here all alone?  I searched the world over and thought I’d found true love.  You met another and phhhlttt, you was gone.”  If that doesn’t bring a tear to your eye, I don’t know what will.  If you can’t come up with the title song reference, you are forgiven.  I’ll probably forget by the end of this post.

I went for my annual exam.  The one all women look forward to with the same amount of joy and excitement as we do tooth extraction.  They greeted me like an old friend.  Well, I sorta am.  This guy found something suspicious when I first went to him.  This was 8-10 years ago.  To make sure we were doing all we could for my health care, he stayed late after the exam and asked me to stay, too.  He tested the strange something or other while I waited.  He also made time for extra tests.  It turned out to be nothing.  Thank God.  But, this was enough for me to trust this doctor completely.   This guy is my OB-GYN and will be as long as possible.  The thing is, when I went in his nurse smiled at me and said, “Cynthia (my given name), do you know how long it has been since you came last?”  I said I thought it had been two years, but was told it was three.  Kami said “No, dear, it’s been since September, 2004”.  I was floored.  After the exam, my doctor told me that he would “see me in one year.”  Kami said the same thing and we all smiled.  Lord, help me.  I thought it had been at most two years.  I’m losing my mind and I don’t even miss it.

I know they aren’t very pretty, but they are my babies and they are the most beautiful in the world.  They were also the sweetest most meaty tomatoes I have ever eaten.  It looks like a paltry harvest from here, but, no matter.  We will love and eat every single fruit we harvest.  Wish us luck with the sweet potatoes.  I hear they are a bear to grow.

No real knitting to report.  I knit a bit for yesterday on Sleeve I, but it was not much.  Instead, I had other fun.  See above story.  And, to end this post, I want to help you out with the title.  It’s from Pink Floyd.  It is not my soundtrack.  It’s kinda hard to hum and sing along with Pink Floyd.  No, my soundtrack today is this:

Edwin Starr singing the Vietnam War era song “War”.  Have a good one!

This entry was posted in soundtrack, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hello? Is there anybody out there? Can anybody hear me?

  1. margene says:

    Good soundtrack! It’s mine from time to time, too. Finally after several years of looking I have a doctor I can trust, too. They are hard to come by. I go about as often as you do! 😉

  2. joyknits says:

    I think I’m about as behind w/ the Dr as you were 😦

    You’ve already gotten more tomatoes – total yield to date from 2 plants here has been 2 very small cherry tomatoes.

  3. heideho says:

    Is that Comfortably Numb by Pink Floyd? Just back from taking Autumn to the orthodontist. Now on to other tasks. Cheers!

  4. Annie says:

    When I read the first two sentences of the title, I immediately went into the Steve Martin routine about a little moonlighting and ending with the signature Excuuuuuse Meeeee!

    Not what you were intending.

    “I come out here, and I’m giving, and I’m giving and I keep giving and I give some more, and I make a simple request. I say hey, could I possibly have a blue spot? But I guess the lighting crew feels they know a little bit more about show business than I do, although I’ve been in the business a few years, and I think I know what works best. Well I am sorry, but I am angry. I come out here, and I can’t get a little cooperation from the back stage crew? Well excuuuse meeee!”

    Or words to that effect.

  5. Nora says:

    Ladies, when your birthday rolls around each year, make your appointment! Get one for a mammogram then, too!

    OK I’m done yelling now. Hee Haw? Oh, my. And I know exactly what song you’re talking about.

    Be afraid.

  6. Amy says:

    I know that song…all too well.

    The last time I went for that exam was with a new doc. He asked me how long it had been since my last and I had to change the subject, very quickly.

  7. Freelancer says:

    hi, yes people can hear you out there 🙂

Leave a Reply

