Thing 1 is done

No.  No picture.  I cut the grass last night, so I didn’t have time before the sun set (yup, summer is waning) to take decent pictures.  I have a sleeve.  Bring on the cold!  I even cast on and knit on Thing 2 last night after cooling down from cutting the grass.  Gad.  I hate mowing the lawn.  If I could get goats, I would.  Of course, they’d have to be cashmere(heh).  At least the process would be more efficient and earth friendly.  There is the problem with having a predator in the house (Grover, remember?).  He is the least efficient, but most ernest hunter I have ever witnessed.  Such a sweet boy.  He would starve in the wild.  Only the diseased and dead would have him to fear.  He hunts and tries to get flies.  It’s amazing to watch him.  He never quits.  He never catches anything, but he never quits.  Last fall we were out walking on a glorious fall weekend morn.  We live very close to a couple of parks.  As we walked up the street I spied a doe.  An exquisite creature eating greens near a house.  Grover looked at her and kept walking.  Like she was just another dog.  I’m grateful we were able to give him a home.  He would have died of starvation without intervention.

Of course, the most inept hunter in the world is Esau Marie.  She has no instincts.  Not survival.  Nothing.  She is by species, a cat.  She is by intelligence and instinct, a newt.  I love this cat with all my heart, but I cannot tell you how worried I get when she slips outside.  She is afraid of the dark, thunderstorms, and outside cats.  Another important save by our intrepid little home crowd.  We save those unable to save themselves.  But, who will save us?  I was at a shopping center in Hooterville (where I work).  Hooterville is a bedroom community.  There is never a crowd anywhere in Hooterville during the week.  Therefore, you would think I would be able to find my car.  Sad, but true.  I misplaced it yesterday and wandered (lonely like a cloud) for about five minutes until I found it.  There must have been 20 or 30 cars in the parking lot.  You can understand my dilemma.  At least, we all have the sense to come out of the rain.

On that note of self-incrimination, I will leave you with my soundtrack for today.  I don’t often make comments about my soundtrack music.  Suffice it to say, I love each song I put here, unless I make a comment about how funny it is or whatever.  This song speaks to me.  I think it speaks to anyone who has been in a dead end relationship that has ended before you were ready to let it go.  It makes me tear up because I don’t think anyone else can sign it like Frank Sinatra.  If you have never heard it, it is worth a listen:

Have a good one!

This entry was posted in knitting, pets, soundtrack, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thing 1 is done

  1. margene says:

    No go on the video.
    My car looks like all the others in the lot. I usually check the back seat to make sure it’s the messy thing I drive before trying my key. I’ve had to check numerous cars before finding mine.

  2. kathleen says:

    what song is it? Video says it is no longer available.

  3. heideho says:

    Well crap, I drive a gold mini van that used to look just like every other gold mini van out there. To remedy that problem I backed into someone’s mailbox the first week we had the vehicle so now I just look for the wrecked kid mobile. If you don’t want to take quite so drastic measures then maybe you can knit an antenna sock. I love Grover.

Leave a Reply

