Grover gets a voice

This is Grover, the wonderdog.  I am reintroducing him because he gets so little face time on the blog.  We have been priveleged to be in his company for almost 18 months now.  He is over three years old.  The title refers to a relatively current behavior.  He has found his voice.  He barks at the most inappropriate times and is always very surprised.  Hello.  This is our dog.  As I stated last week, his bark can pierce an eardrum.  In a closed house, it is like having a sonic boom.  Outside it incites riots with the other neighborhood dogs.  And, each time, he is surprised.  He is not stupid.  He is guileless, gentle and sweet natured.  And, he’s our giant sweetie-pie.

You came for knitting?  Move along, please.  I got nothin’.  Knitting related anyway.  I still haven’t taken a picture of Thing I.  Nor, have I knit more on Thing 2.  The Cat in the Hat has left the building for the week.  I am working on stealth Christmas knitting and cannot photograph or describe.  I hate that.  But, that’s the way, uh huh, uh huh, I like it, uh huh, uh huh.  Disco fever right here in River City!  I also wanted to apologize for the video yesterday.  Damn thing.  It was really neat, too.  This internet/computer thing is hard for a dullard like me.  Hopefully, today will be more successful.

So, since you are already mentally moving along, I will leave you with the soundtrack of the day:

Patti Page and “How Much is that Doggy in the Window?”  If I’m lucky, you’ll be singing it all day, too.  Have a good one!

This entry was posted in family, knitting, soundtrack, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Grover gets a voice

  1. margene says:

    I love that song, but I always get the words mixed up. The video is a hoot…I’ve never seen it!

  2. sophanne says:

    I am SO not clicking on that link!

  3. heideho says:

    Grover is so sweet! I’m glad that he lives with you and Mum. Any unsavory people coming to your home would have quite a jolt to be greeted by him.

  4. Cookie says:

    Of course, he has an impressive voice. Look at him! He’s a gorgeous boy.

  5. Peggy says:

    Cindy…and Grover…what a sweet, adorable face! You look like a Wonderdog! I remember when my big dog Bravo discovered his bark…same deal…now that he’s 10…he is worse and uses it a great deal but mostly outside…thank God…cause it is like you said! Chimi, on the other hand, is a whiney baby but he’s learning how to be tough, now and exerts that bark with all he can outside…he’s the least of my worries! You need to post photos of GROVER more often!
    Enjoy a great weekend with your sweetie pie GROVER!!!

  6. Annie says:

    Does he shake his head after he barks? My bluetick would. I think it reverberated in his ears. Grover is a gorgeous boy, and I’m glad you have each other.

  7. joyknits says:

    Definitely a gorgeous boy – unless he doesn’t play nicely with other dogs, he and Toby would probably have a blast chasing each other 😉

  8. Paula says:

    I just love Grovers sweet face!
    Big kisses for Grover and a woof from Elise!

  9. Marjie says:

    Grover is so cute! My Thor doesn’t bark unless he’s talking. He tells me when someone opens the front gate, and, of course, if someone has the audacity to walk down the street outside our property, they are told to promptly move along!

  10. Serendipity says:

    Hello Grover, it’s really nice to meet you! What a sweet boy you are! I’m sure my Happy would love you as she’s very much in love with her own voice too.

  11. Kim says:

    So funny! Unfortunately mine are no longer surprised at their own voices and love hearing them…*sigh*

  12. carol says:

    Charli and I are sending best wishes to you and Grover.

  13. It’s funny that he’s waited this long to find his voice. lol. I certainly understand the volume of that beautiful bark though. Tucker, being a big boy himself, has quite the booming voice. Does Grover howl at anything, like sirens for example?

  14. fireflynights says:

    Good to see Grover again. He looks so sweet.

Leave a Reply

