Fryday? NOT!!!

Today is FRIDAY! Yes, children.  Your PSA for the week is out and on the internet waves screens monitors.  Oh, hell.  Whatevers.  Please put your trays in the upright position and fasten your seat belts.  We are fast approaching the weekend and the runway is slick.

Thursday was spent rowing around Middle Earth.  We had volumes or bunches of rain.  This all came from Gustav.  Sneaky devil.  Mess up poor NOLA again and then come wandering our way.  Nobody invited him, but we’re glad to see him go.  Now, there are TS Hannah and Hurricane Ike.  I’m not hurricane savvy.  I am a flatlander.  We have tornados, X-winds, thunderstorms, ice storms, stuff like that.  Hurricanes and earthquakes (and we are so prone to earthquakes) scare the holy snot out of me.  I watch coverage of hurricanes, and other than the fact that the weather/news people look like total asses while out there,  the sheer height of the waves, the winds and the torrential rains are completely frightening.  In a hurricane situation, you will never (yes, never!) find this girl chatting it up with the newspeople talking about having a big party.  Won’t happen.  OK.  The party, maybe, but not during the hurricane unless I’m about 100 miles away.  Now, earthquakes are different.  How far and fast can you run?  I have experienced earthquakes.  Cute little baby earthquakes.  The kind where you are asleep and awaken and wonder if the house was hit by a truck or if somebody was trying to break in.  Or, if you are like me, you lay there and think,  WTF?  I am extremely  dullwitted when I just wake up.  Upon arising, I am annoyingly happy and cheerful.  It’s “MPD” or “Morning Person Disease”.  We are a hale and hardy group.  Infuriating to the rest of the world, but very content in our “happy place”. By 9:15 p.m. I am losing function at an alarming rate.  Best to just go to bed and wake up happy and refreshed.  The key part being “wake up.”

I’m hoping this weekend is a tad more low key than last weekend.  Last weekend was fun and wonderful, but I came back to work just a bit tired.  I don’t really like that feeling, because I add to the sleep deficit as the week progresses and end up on Friday really quite exhausted.  So, this weekend I am hoping to have a bit of R&R (relaxation and ritting;-)  The time for hand knit socks and sweaters is close at hand.  My toes are a bit chilly this morning, so the sandals will be relegated to the back of the closet soon.  I really ought to consider getting the coats out soon, too, but I don’t wanna.  That’s too big a commitment.  I have a month or so before that becomes a necessity.  I watched leaves coming down in a brisk breeze and thought it was coming a bit faster than I wanted, but, of course, I don’t get to vote on the season changes.  Winter would have been about 2 month shorter last year if I had had a say.

I have a question for you.  Do you feel that knitting is a non-essential?  Do you believe that in the long run it saves money?  I’m curious.  I think that knitting is just a notch below essential for me.  It will not keep me alive or put a roof over my head or feed me, but I think it enables me to remain as sane as I am ever going to be and it also gives me great joy.  Those factors and the gifts and warmth make it very important.  I realize I’m asking the converted, but with the tougher economic times I was just wondering how other knitter/spinners felt.  Yarn is not cheap.  Even so-called “cheap” yarns aren’t so inexpensive any more.  For wear and warmth and good looks, is cheap yarn even worth it?  I’m just sorta ruminating here.  What do you think?

I have a picture of 50% of our sweet potato harvest.  I planted about six plant this year just to see what would happen.  I love sweet potatoes baked or roasted (not with those gross marshmallows), so it seemed like a particularly brilliant idea.  My hand is there for scale.  Aren’t they the cutest baby sweet potatoes you have ever seen?  Not only were all four of them cute, but they were sweet and wonderful.  I’ll plan better next year because I do intend to grow them again.   Herein concludes the harvest for the year from Chez Knitwonpurltoo.

lAnd, the soundtrack for my day?  I’m having a helluva time with YouTube lately, so I think I’ll just link you.  Here it is.  The Foo Fighters.  The song is ok, but I absolutely LOVE their videos.  A band with sense of humor.  How rare.

Have a great weekend!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Fryday? NOT!!!

  1. margene says:

    I love being a MPD right along with you. Knitting is essential for sanity. Of course I have done other hobbies for sanity but knitting is best because it is useful. The price of yarn is expensive but if it comes down to buy for one thing, knit it and buy for the next, that’s what I’ll do. The stash will keep me going for a long time and then I can spin my own yarn, too! Happy Friday!!!!

  2. joyknits says:

    I think knitting is *definitely* a mental health essential, at least for me, and you’ve got something useful when you get done. I don’t think knitting with “cheap” yarn is worth your time, but you can always shop the sale/discontinued good yarns for bargains 😉

  3. emicat says:

    I’m yet another with MPD. We all gotta stand up! 🙂

    I’d also say that knitting is just a notch below essential for me. I am being a little more aware of where I’m spending my fun money and my yarn purchases have been on the light side. I’m just amazed at how much yarn I’ve managed to accumulate in a little over a year and a half (it also doesn’t hurt that I have an indie dyer in my knitting group, hehehe).

    Hope you have a relaxing weekend – I was a little wiped out from last weekend and plan to take it easy too.

  4. Annie says:

    Knitting is less essential than spinning for me. Spinning is essential to my mental health. When I think how much I could be spending on a therapist, spinning is way cheaper!

  5. Wendy says:

    Knitting is definitely a mental health essential for me. I am a very low budget knitter though, and rely on the kindness of my mom, my own spinning, and good sales. I have been making sweaters from Knitpicks Wool of the Andes but they pill SO quickly, I’ve given it up. But I have been stashing for quite a while and just picked up 2 sweaters’ worth of yarn for $35 that I probably won’t even get to this year. We’ll see what happens when the kids need new Wallabies next fall.

    My fiber stash will keep me in knitting for a goodly while, though!

  6. Amy says:

    Knitting is pretty essential to my mental health. I haven’t done much lately…that might explain a few things.

  7. heideho says:

    You only have MPD? I must be an over-achiever because I’m in a fog 24/7. Glad the rain has passed you by now. Leaves are turning here and summer is definitely over. I must knit. Even if it’s just a couple of stitches every few days. It’s cheaper than therapy and how do you measure a person’s time and thoughtfulness when it comes to gifts? Hope you enjoyed some down time this weekend.

Leave a Reply

