What more can I say about the pup?

I have written about our big pup many many times.  He is the love of my mother’s life (usually) and a true and loyal friend.  He is also the biggest thing in our house.  The clumsiest and the messiest pup I have ever known.  I watched him shake his head in the living room this morning.  The sun was streaming through the storm door and I watched as the slobber and water from his chin flew all over the television set and furniture.  Now, again, why isn’t our house tidy?  He is so big that when he smells bad the whole house smells bad.   Yet, when he plays with his squeaky toys, he is so dear and happy.  He jumps at them and picks them up and throws them across the room.  He also shakes the entire house when he does this, but we don’t really care.  He is an integral part of our lives and has given Mom a reason to “be”.  She has to be there to take care of her baby.  He needs food and water and love and going outside.  He is her reason to continue and care.  I wonder how many other elderly people would benefit by having somebody to care for, if only it weren’t so expensive?  I see Mom touch his face and I see God.  At least, that’s what I think of when I  think of God.  Pure love.   I’m not proselytizing, but that is what I see.  Of course, I also see two ornery critters going toe to toe, but it is not often that that occurs.  Sometimes I think how easy it would be without a Grover in my life.  No pitch black walks in predawn mornings.  No expensive food, vet bills, or home made treats.  Nobody so happy when I get home they whimper.  No body slam in the living room on the way out for our morning walks. Nobody to bark a warning at a dangerous bunny or squirrel.  Nobody to care when I come home alone.  He is family.  There are those who don’t like animals or pets of any kind.  That’s ok, too.  I just can’t imagine my life without my Grover.  And, thankfully, I don’t have to.

I’m feeling less pissy today.  Can you tell???  I’m still picking up the “little pink scarf” and working on it from time to time, but for the most part I have bupkis to show.  The weather has been too nice and there is yard work (I accidentally typed yarn for yard, how Freudian) so with Ike moving in this weekend, I’m hoping to have a bit more time to put into it.  The ball of yarn has been growing.  I think it’s some sort of physics type thingy, but I”m not scientific, so I don’t really know.

Soundtrack?  How about a little 1973 Led Zeppelin?  Black Dog.  Enjoy

Have a good one!!!!

This entry was posted in knitting, soundtrack, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to What more can I say about the pup?

  1. margene says:

    Once you live with an animal it is nearly impossible to be without one. They are loving and pure…it is the face of god. I always type yarn instead of yard…it’s a kntter’s thing. 😉 Great tune today, a great wake up! Boy, it took my back to 1970!!

  2. joyknits says:

    I think our home would be unbearably empty without dogs and cats – we’ve had at least one of each forever! They give back so much.

  3. Leslie says:

    Well said. I wish my elderly parents would get a dog again. They haven’t had one in years. I think it would help get their minds off of their ailments and maybe they would have less time to be nasty to one another.

  4. Amy says:

    Isn’t it crazy how a silly dog can become such a huge part of your life? I don’t know what I would do without mine, he is my buddy.

  5. Annie says:

    I think the very same thing when I see Mom pet one of the dogs. Ursa, the smaller one, has this endearing habit of turning her face into your hand and closing her eyes when you pet her cheek, like she is trying to pet you back.

  6. Kenyetta says:

    Such a touching post!

  7. Peggy says:

    Cindy…I think the same thing often about having 5, but i remember quickly what their lives would be like or would not be at all without me…and then I’m reminded of all the melancholy thoughts you listed…I can’t even imagine
    my days without them…each one contributes so much to my day in very different ways…GROVER seems irreplaceable…
    I love what you said about God…I do believe dogs give us a good reason to be…they are so much a part of the family… and I can so identify with the smell of the house but God loves all His critters…me, too! Grover’s love waiting at the door…is also like God!!! After living together, we become just ONE big happy family. After my dacshund went to the Big rainbow in the sky, I had to get any dog just to stay
    occupied with loving a dog…not one can replace my Champ,
    but I sure love loving them and knowing they are better off.
    Led Zepellin and Black Dog, huh??? What more can I say 73? hhhmmmmm

  8. sonya says:

    “I see Mom touch his face and I see God. At least, that’s what I think of when I think of God. Pure love. ”

    That is a beautiful sentiment. Thank you!

  9. emicat says:

    I’d much prefer ‘yarn work’ over yard work anytime 😉

    Grover is lucky to be part of you and Mum’s lives, and how blessed you two are to be a part of his.

  10. Mindy says:

    Hey there, (Zeus and) I haven’t stopped by to stay hello in a long time. So *woof* and hello. That was a very sweet write up about Grover. People that don’t have dogs sometimes don’t understand how they become family, but they really are.

  11. Kim says:

    Well said. God taught me about real love and acceptance when Wilbur was a pup. 🙂

  12. Robyn says:

    Yes! The pleasures of owning a dog. Life wouldn’t be the same without them. We tolerate the unpleasantries because it is well worth it in the end. And to round out your blog with a bit of Led Zeppelin is always a good thing! ~ Robyn

Leave a Reply

