So unexpected.

We had a tropical depression in St. Louis this weekend.  Really!  And, truly!  I don’t honestly recall ever having experienced a tropical depression before, and between you and me, I don’t ever want to again.    Friday morning 4″ + of rain in a 1/2 hour from who knows where. Sunday morning, starting at 4:00 a.m., we had another 5″ or more (our rain gauge only goes to 4.5″).  Our basement flooded.  It was just great.  The problem here is this.  I really don’t feel all that put out.  We are fine.  Our health is fine.  Our house and electricity are fine.  See?  No problems.  Ike caused the death of at least one St. Louisan.  That is just too weird.  I feel for everyone touched by that bad boy.

But, good things happen, too, ya know?  Friday I came home from work and found a box marked thusly:

I have been reading knitting blogs for 3+ years now.  If you don’t know who this is, you haven’t read Norma! No, not normal!  Norma!!!!!!!  I won a contest on her blog and she sent me my prize with other wonderful goodies.  I guess she has read the blog, or been advised wisely because included in the box were wine bottle gift tags.  And, Soak samples in citrus, a scent, and aquae.  A beautiful card decorated with herbs and yarn from Scout!  Here’s a shot of the contents.

Now, the yarn looks very dark, but it really isn’t.  Please note:  dark day, impaired photographer.  So, it’s really a fuschia, burgundy, dark pink yarn.  And, as is typical for Scout, it is gorgeous!  Thank you so much Norma.  Incredibly generous and kind.

And, my soundtrack for the day?  How’s ’bout Leo Kottke?  I have loved this guy for years.  He always seems to have a private joke and he is absolutely amazing live.  One of my favorites of his,  “Hear the Wind Howl”

Have a good one!

This entry was posted in family, soundtrack, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to So unexpected.

  1. margene says:

    Leo is amazing live! What a guitar player.
    Norma sends the best prezzies, I swear. I really should have called yesterday as I thought about you so many times and wondered if Ike had been mean to you. He was quite the mover and is now in Boston!

  2. joyknits says:

    What a great surprise in the middle of all the mess, and your soundtrack sure fits the winds we had! Hope you dry out quickly.

  3. Nora says:

    What a wonderful package!!

    Sorry about the nasty weather. We had a lousy weekend, as well, but nothing very dramatic. Just wet.

  4. marianne says:

    Fabulous goodies from Norma! (she’s good at that, eh?)
    Thank you for Leo in the morning :^) I’ve gotten to see him ‘live’ a couple of times.
    Good luck with the basement drying out.

  5. emicat says:

    I was thinking about you as I saw Ike remnants headed your way.

    Glad to hear you had a sunny spot in all that wetness.

    Hope the week will treat you much better 🙂

  6. carol says:

    I am sorry about your basement flooding. We had that experience once and it was terrible. I hope this week goes much better for you.

  7. heideho says:

    How fabulous about the yarn and other goodies, Norma rocks! That completely stinks about the basement though. I hope that the rest of the hurricane season goes easy on everyone. Hugs!

Leave a Reply

