Tuesday September 23

Hi.  I am running behind this morning.  I’ve been busy and working on “stuff”.  OK.  The ball band from the Noro Kuryeon is #88.  That’s the color for the tea cozy.  Emiko has an inquiring mind;-)  I love it myself.

I wrote yesterday about a quick knit  I started and finished on Saturday.  I did have an extra 1.5 hours to knit while I waited for my car to be worked on, but it still went incredibly fast and I’m thrilled with the result.  It is a hat for my now quite distant cousin “Izzy”.  She is all of 3 months old right now.  Her Grandma and Great Aunt are first cousins of mine.  When we were children, we would all go to Waukesha, WI: Lake Geneva, WI; Peewaukee Lake in WI; and Milwaukee, WI (we had family all over the place).   We would spend at least a couple of weeks every August.  My mother’s brothers and sister always, and I mean always, made it possible for us to spend alot of time together.  They were magical days.  The nights were cooling down (nobody had a/c) and the days were warm.   I know my first cousins better than most people and I’m grateful for the opportunity we were afforded by our parents.  Anyway, “Izzy’s”  Grandma and Great Aunt are dear friends as well as family.  I love them dearly and this little hat is my way of celebrating their great joy with this little person.  She is named after their mother who died suddenly, and too soon almost 20 years ago.

I have it over a waterglobe of Santa Clause.  It is extremely stretch and I love it to death.  It’s knit on two needles.  I used natural 100% alpaca in fingering weight.  The pattern is Crystal Palace yarns “Two Needle Baby Hat”. The hat is very very stretchy and soft and will keep little one’s head warm this first winter in Kansas City.  As I said before, I’m thrilled.

And, since I’m once again running behind.  This is the original version of “Hey Joe” and I still love it most of all.  It’s by The Leaves.  Have a good one!

This entry was posted in family, knitting, soundtrack, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tuesday September 23

  1. margene says:

    Oh yes, Hey Joe has always been a favorite but I do love Jimi’s best. The hat is darling and must be heavenly in alpaca.

  2. marianne says:

    The Leaves? Apparently I lived in a cave way back then also :^) They did quite the rousing version I must say. (I also love Jimi’s best :^)
    Izzy’s hat… what a little Beauty and I can just imagine how divinely soft it must be in the alpaca, mmmm. It’s a beautiful colour.
    Good Tuesday to you!

  3. heideho says:

    I’ve never heard of the band before, but the hat is positively adorable. My niece is due to have a baby any day now and I’ve not made anything yet. I’m so unorganized. Hope your Tuesday treats you kindly.

  4. emicat says:

    Aww, I love that hat! And thanks for the Noro colour 😉

    I’ve gotta get crackin on some baby booties and hats for a co-worker too, as I’ve got a shower to attend next month.

    I hope Tuesday treats both you and me kindly too. The way my Monday started off was not fun at all, so let’s hope for a fast and steady workweek so that we can enjoy the weekend.

  5. Annie says:

    Sweet hat! Alpaca is a lovely choice, not that I’m biased or anything.

Leave a Reply

