Ten on Tuesday

Here’s hoping.  Monday was wild for me.  A dear friend had a stroke.  Some things on the job have become a bit of a cl*sterf*ck.  My mom was in a “bored” mood.  I had a meeting.  If I had a hammer.  I’d hammer in the morning.  Did I just age myself here?

So.  Since I got nothing of value and Esau Marie has been asleep for at least 20 of every 24 hours since Friday, I’m gonna give it a go.  Here’s Ten on Tuesday:

My 10 Favorite Books (in no particular order):

1.  As I Lay Dying  by William Faulkner

2.  The Sound and the Fury by William Faulkner

3.  To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

4.  Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee by Dee Brown

5.  Absalom! Absalom! by William Faulkner

6.  Mississippi Solo: A River Quest by Eddie Harris

7.  The Old Testament by assorted authors

8.  Huck Finn by Mark Twain

9. All the King’s Men by Robert Penn Warren

10.  Harry Potter (the entire series) by J. K. Rowling

That was an interesting and satisfying exercise.  I have a southern bent to my likes, don’t I?  William Faulkner lived behind my French teacher’s aunt in Mississippi when I was a kid.  She told stories that would make you cringe, but I found him a fascinating and eccentric person.  I wish we allowed and encouraged more eccentricity these days.  Homogenization only works for milk.

On this note, I will leave you with balance.  Unusual for this blog, I know.  Since my favorite books lean decidedly south, you get Neil Young with his “Southern Man”.  You may discuss among yourselves;-)

Have a good one!

This entry was posted in soundtrack, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ten on Tuesday

  1. margene says:

    A very nice list of books. To Kill a Mockingbird is probably my favorite of all time. Love most of Neil’s music, too! Hope today is less hectic!

  2. emicat says:

    “Homogenization only works for milk” – That should be a bumper sticker 🙂

    To Kill a Mockingbird was one book I never had the opportunity to read. I was going to just watch the movie instead, but I really do want to read the book.

  3. I agree with emicat – bumperstickers!!!

    I tend towards the southern fiction and southern rock in my tastes. I blame that 400 level Souther Fiction class I took my last year in college (and no, I was not a lit major). Though I have to confess that Faulkner never really did it for me.

  4. marianne says:

    YES, what great bumper stickers that would make!

    Great list, you realize most of those books have been on the ‘challenged or banned’ list? can you believe that? it’s true though. go figure.

    Of course I love Neil Young’s music. From the beginning.
    I’m thinking you probably have a bit of Leonard Cohen up your music sleeve too. That Canadian thing.

    I hope today is better, although I’m thinking ‘magic wands’ may be necessary.

Leave a Reply

