Long hard weekend

Mom and I went to the “Short Term Memory” Clinic on Friday.  She was diagnosed with mild Alzheimer’s disease.  After picking my heart up off the floor, I accepted that I probably had already known the diagnosis and was grateful it was mild.  We spent the rest of the weekend learning to live with it.  She’s on medication.  The doctor told us that 1 out of 2 people over the age of 80 suffer from Alzheimer’s.  Shit.  Hope I die before I get old.  Yet, once I recovered from the reality of the illness, I thought about it and decided that we will do fine.  It’s not gonna be easy.  I remember as a youngun’ lo’ these many years ago and thinking how easy it must be to get older.  I have heard people in their 20’s and 30’s talking about how easy older people have it.  We have all the answers and money and everything.  Um, no we don’t.  What we do have (you have no idea how hard it is for me to talk about being “older”, how’s about “more experienced”?) is a wider frame of reference.  The more time you put in, the more experience you have and the wider your frame of reference.  If you absorb any of this experience, you become wiser and trust me, I know some older people that don’t have the sense that God gave gravel.  Another thing that I’m learning is patience.  I’m a true Presbyterian, reformed and always reforming;-P

Anyway, I did knit quite a bit on Thing 2.  I’m getting closer to the sleeve cap.  It just feels sometimes like I’m knitting in reverse.

So, because the weekend wasn’t exactly relaxing, but still fine, I’m going to leave you (tomorrow promises to be better and if not, at least different;–) with The Who,  “My Generation”.  Enjoy

Have a good one!

This entry was posted in family, knitting, soundtrack. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Long hard weekend

  1. Nora says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your mom, Cindy. Look at it this way – your mom is the same as she was before you heard the diagnosis, and you were coping. Not that it will be easy, but at least you know you can cope.

    Hugs!!

  2. joyknits says:

    What Nora said – hang in there. Hugs!!!

  3. heideho says:

    Oh dear! Please give Mum a big hug and then ask her for one right back. What a scary diagnosis to hear, even if you might have suspected it. Thankfully you found out and that there is medicine available to help. Are you ever going to show us pictures of the knitted “things” ? I hope your week goes well.

  4. marianne says:

    You already know how I feel about all this, I’m just thankful there are meds available to help and hopefully they’ll help your mum in slowing the process.
    Your ‘tune’ today has been one rattling around in my head for weeks, pops up and plays at the funniest times.
    Others have been tunes off JA’s Volunteers. :^D
    Lots of hugs your way, some for your mum too. and Grover. mustn’t forget Grover. Mr. ComfortGiver.

  5. emicat says:

    Sounds like you had a lot of stuff to take in. Even if you may have had suspicions of it, it’s always difficult to absorb when it is confirmed. I hope Mum’s treatment helps. I know with you and Grover by her side, she’ll do just fine *hugs* 🙂

  6. Annie says:

    Sounds like you’re dealing with it well. Yes, it sucks, but you learn to accept and go with the flow. But don’t let that stop you from stomping your feet, jumping up and down and screaming “It isn’t fair!” when you need to.

  7. Cookie says:

    Oh no. I am sorry, sweetie. However, at least, you know now and she is getting the added care that she needs.

    One in every two over 80? Goodness!

  8. Rachel says:

    I’m sorry for the bad news, but it sounds like you and mom are in a good place with dealing and accepting. I’m here to lend an ear (or an eye since this is a blog, afterall).

    Rachel

  9. margene says:

    You had a rough week and weekend. It’s so hard to watch our most loved elders suffer losses of body and mind. You and your mom are in my thoughts and prayers.

Leave a Reply

