Ch-ch-ch-changes

Doesn’t little David Bowie look so young?  Of course this blog has nothing to do with the song.  I don’t recall ever saying I didn’t want to be richer.  I just don’t want the burdens and crap that go along with wealth.  And, there are so many burdens and crap involved in having and keeping money.

What I did this weekend was knit a fingerless mitt.  Honestly.  I really and truly did.  I have photographic proof.  It’s a really well written pattern and a fun knit.  I had the first one done by Saturday night.  It’s still a bit damp from its bath, but I love it.  This is Paton’s good old wool.  Isnt’ it pretty?  It feels good and durable.  Happy Happy Joy Joy!

So, now my right hand is warm, but my left hand is very very cold.  This is the Lady Charles fingerless mitt pattern.   I have only about 1″ of the wrist ribbing done.  Still, I’m happy and it’s fun and I will finish very shortly.    I spoke with Lil Bit in Chicago yesterday and she asked me to knit her something because she is cold.  How on earth can I say no to that??????  So, I’ll be working on something for her for Christmas and, also, for Peanut, her big sissy!

Now, the ch-ch-ch-changes part?  I am adjusting to my new role.  Support and caregiver to my Mom who has Alzheimer’s Disease and has decided to accept it and enjoy her life as it comes.  I signed on for the same plan.  I am working on getting the house in order.  I will declutter and toss out and not worry about the little crap.  I have asked her to help for quite a while and she has been unwilling or unable or both.   Now, that I know it’s mine to do I’m starting.  It’s going to get done in little bits and pieces because I don’t have huge chunks of time to devote to the job.  Yet, still it feels like a weight has been lifted off my shoulders.  Acceptance.  I think that’s the key here.

We are going to get a freeze tonight.  It’s about the right time, but I’m still not really quite ready for it.  Ya know?  At least we’re not getting snow.  I would be reduced to a whimpering whining crybaby if it snowed before the middle of November here in Middle Earth!  Of course, it could happen and if it does you’ll read about it first here!  But, here are some beautiful flowers given to my mother by one of our “friend” vendors at the farmer’s market last week. 

Have a good one!!!!!

This entry was posted in knitting, soundtrack. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Ch-ch-ch-changes

  1. margene says:

    Acceptance is the secret to a good life. We can only do the “now” anyway. Get that other mitt made! You deserve warm hands. The freeze means you can spend more time in the house getting it decluttered. It was so nice to talk to you last night. You lifted my spirits. 😉

  2. marianne says:

    What Margene said. Acceptance.
    Once I accept what’s mine to do, it does somehow make it ‘clearer’ at which point I direct folks to stay out of my way :^)
    Your mitt is Lovely! pretty colour, pretty pattern.
    Those flowers are gorgeous too.
    It’s 36F here right now, ‘they’ say 31F for tomorrow night/early morning, I’m hoping it’ll be a brief dip.
    Stay warm and more at peace than not ;^)
    I hear you loud and clear on the ‘wealth’ issue.
    David, baby faced :^)

  3. emicat says:

    Acceptance is the hardest part sometimes. I hate the whole decluttering process, but it has to be done. Just so I don’t freak out and get all overwhelmed w/ a project, I try to section them out into very teeny tiny steps, even if it means just doing something for only 10 mins. or doing something between commercial breaks. It’s actually amazing how much you can get done in just a few minutes!

    And then you’ll breeze through it and then you can come here and help me out ;P

  4. Cookie says:

    Good for you!

    Lovely mitt. If that’s the color I think it is, I’ve got a sweater’s worth waiting for me. 😀

  5. Annie says:

    Love the mitt! Decluttering is a great idea. Leave some stuff around in case she wants to create art though. 🙂

  6. joyknits says:

    Lovely mitt! Maybe we need to start a Declutter-Along – to go with the Knit-Alongs? Hang in there!

  7. heideho says:

    Your fingerless mitt is just perfect for this time of year and what a quick knitting job you did! Our school district has three half days this week so I’m thinking about using at least one of the afternoons to go through our clutter in the garage. Much will be tossed but there are some items that need to be stored neatly and still others that should probably go away via ebay. Hugs to both you and Mum. David Bowie is one of my husband’s all-time favorite singers. Take care!

Leave a Reply

