You got yer corn fed beef over here, and yer grain fed …..

That is a real line that I remember hearing on a news show many years ago.  I can still hear the man saying the words, and they still crack me up.  For review.  I’m easy to amuse.  I think it was just the man and the situation and the fact that it made the news.  But, I am very easy to amuse.

So, here we are on a Tuesday without my list of 10 whatevers.  I still can’t come up with anything, so we’ll just move along.  To knitting.  Well, I worked on my left Lady Charles Fingerless Mitt last night and it is still ribbing.  Things come up and need to be dealt with and sometimes the Mom needs a bit more attention and time, ya know?  Still, I’m happy with the pattern and the mitts and I will probably knit these again (after I finish this pair).

Since there is very little knitting to show, I will share the last of our bountiful harvest with you.  These are melons.  I did not know that I had planted melons.  The containers said they were squash.  We ate the big one which was the size of a softball and sweeter than any melon I have ever eaten, but it was still not a squash.  The smaller one, the size of a regular baseball, is a cantaloupe.  Seriously.  It is the cutest thing I have ever seen.  Even cuter than our wee sweet potatoes.  We have not eaten the cantaloupe yet because it is not yet ripe.  We will eat it.  They were a pleasant surprise when I went to just check for the heck of it when the weatherdoofs said we would go below freezing.  Thank God, we don’t depend on my gardening skills for survival.

And, to round out this ever bizarre blog post, I leave you with Delaney and Bonnie and Eric Clapton with “Poor Elisah”.  A true blast from the past!  Enjoy.

And, have a good one!

This entry was posted in gardening, knitting, soundtrack. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to You got yer corn fed beef over here, and yer grain fed …..

  1. margene says:

    The title will keep me laughing all day. Home grown melons have the best flavor! Time with your mom is precious…the mitts will be done soon enough.

  2. marianne says:

    That’s hilarious, the title!
    We would’ve already starved.
    Again, what Margene said, time being of the essence and your time with your mom IS precious.. it’s what ‘making good time’ is all about.
    I DID enjoy the tune, I have an old billboard poster of theirs from waaaay back. Had to run a search as in ‘whatever happened to them’.
    xox

  3. emicat says:

    Heh, I love the title. I can totally hear some guy saying that too. Hell, I might be walkin around the office saying that today, who knows? 😉

    That’s too cool that you were growing a cantaloupe! No way in hell we could do that up here. I couldn’t live on what I grew either, because I’d only be living on herbs, cherry tomatoes and a single sunflower 🙂

  4. Annie says:

    Hey, nice melons! Sorry, I couldn’t resist! What kind of melon is the non cantaloupe one? I suppose you don’t really know since you thought you were planting squash. Ok, was the flesh green, red or orange?

  5. Nora says:

    Nice produce! And lovely mitt (from the other post – I’m condensing, since somehow I missed a day…)

    😉

Leave a Reply

