Funeral for a friend

I’m sorry if I’m a bit of a downer today.  A man I have known for over 25 years was murdered Friday.  His name was Mike and he was a police officer.  We both attended the same church.  We were Deacons together and worked on all kinds of projects.  He was a great guy.  I pray for his wife, Mom, Dad, and brothers.

I also finished the fingerless mitts, but my camera batteries died and I haven’t charged them up, so we’re gonna have to wait until the rechargeable batteries recharge.  The second one looks just like the first one, only the thumb is in a different position (a logical place, really).

We did have a nice time at the yarn shops, though.  I got Christmas knitting yarn at the first one and a skein of “Lupin” sock yarn from the Harry Potter series at the second shop.  It’s actually a smart marketing move by Opal to come up with interesting yarn color combos and attach them to the incredibly successful Harry Potter franchise.  I really like the color combinations in all of them, but the Lupin attracted me the most.

So, since I feel just a tad melancholy, I will leave you with the soundtrack of my day.  Today, it is not a song, but a reading of Dylan Thomas by Richard Burton,

Have a good one and hug somebody you love today.

This entry was posted in knitting, soundtrack. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Funeral for a friend

  1. margene says:

    It is so horrible to loose a friend in that way. My heart goes out to you for the loss of someone so close. May you and the other fellows in your church find peace together.

  2. joyknits says:

    So sorry about your friend – that’s a really terrible way to lose someone – (((((((((((Cindy)))))))))))

  3. marianne says:

    Oh, dear. I’m so sorry, so very sorry. Sending you all manner of soothing thoughts and prayers, and hugs.

  4. Nora says:

    I’m sorry, Cindy. Take care.

  5. emicat says:

    I’m so sorry to hear of the loss of your friend. Sending lots of big hugs your way *hugs*

  6. Cookie says:

    I am so sorry for your loss. *hugs*

  7. heideho says:

    I am so sorry to hear about your friend. My heart goes out to you and all of his other friends and family.

Leave a Reply

