It’s Howdy Friday time. It’s Howdy Friday time.

Sing along with me everyone.  It’s that day of the week again (friday).  Did anyone watch Howdy Doody?  It’s my era, but I never could be bothered watching television when there was outside playing to be done.  Still, I remember that ugly puppet and Buffalo Bob.  St. Louis had several after school shows.  We had Cookie and the Captain which showed The Three Stooges (and, I have never understood the allure of the Three Stooges, but I might be impaired).  Some show with Corky the Clown.  And, Texas Bruce.  I loved Texas Bruce.  He was the kind of man that you could trust (and, he really truly was).  He could ride a horse and everything.  Still, I watched very little of him.  I have never been much for television.  There are some things that grab my attention, but I lose interst before long (magpies are like that).  I don’t watch movies much either.  The last movie I watched was “Shoot “Em Up” with Clive Owen, so I’m not gonna make NetFlix any money at all.  That’s one reason I love my knitting.  It occupies me without boring me.  I can listen to classical music on the radio (my Mom is rock ‘n roll intolerant to this day, I listen to it in the car) or jazz and just knit away.  I have heard tell in these here parts that some knitters listen to books.  I have tried that and I can’t do it.  It makes me a nervous wreck.  I don’t understand why, but it does, so I don’t.  And, I’ll bet you all are thinking to yourselves, WTF???  Well, you should be on this side of the weirdness.

Have you noticed?  No exclamation points?  I ran out, but I did find a good stash of question marks.  I’m gonna use them instead, so if you find yourself with your voice going up at the end of a sentence that is not a question, but an excited declaration, then blame the lack of sales on exclamation points.  I’m wondering if that’s what happened in the schools.  Did they run out of periods and exclamation points and just start plugging in question marks?  Is that why so many people sound like every damn thing they say is a question?????  Is it?

So, the weekend is upon us once again.  Thank you Father Time?  I sure hope you all have a wonderful weekend.  I am going clean and knit?   This question mark thing might be problematic.

I will leave you with my soundtrack for the day.  How about REM and a wonderful rendition of “Smiling Happy People” ?

Have a great weekend?

This entry was posted in Friday, knitting, soundtrack. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to It’s Howdy Friday time. It’s Howdy Friday time.

  1. margene says:

    I remember Howdy and Micky Mouse, but never watch other very much. I had too much playing to do, too. And have I told you lately that I think you’re a hoot! I crazy, kookie hoot! This morning I woke up with I am Superman in my head. We are often on the same wave length!! (I never have used up all my exclamation points!) 🙂

  2. joyknits says:

    I remember all the ones you mention – I think Texas Bruce and possibly Corky were strictly St Louis shows, weren’t they?

    I keep meaning to try audio books for intensive knitting sessions, but the only time they’ve really worked for me is travelling when you can’t keep a radio station tuned in for any length of time. Have a great weekend!

  3. emicat says:

    You know, I think you have something on the way kids sound these days with everything sounding like a question? Maybe the schools got a super great deal on ?s and had no choice but to dish ’em out because that’s all that they had. You crack me up! 🙂

    I feel like I’d be even more distracted trying to listen to a book while knitting, because I usually want to pay more attention to my reading, whereas a movie or a tv show I can glance up now and then, but still keep up with the listening to know what’s going on.

    It’s gonna be a really wet one here, so I look forward to staying warm indoors and knit knit knit!

    Happy Friday dear!

  4. marianne says:

    Well, that was a fun video/tune! I’ll show it to Gracie later today.
    I didn’t spend much time with the tube as a kid either, although I do recall fond memories of Sunday afternoons, Winter time (nasty can’t play outdoors weather), in front of the fire and watching old classic movies at my Grandmum’s home. Cozy.
    Howdy Doody. There’s a little story there.
    Never heard of Texas Bruce… I did watch the Lone Ranger. and Zorro a few times. I was too busy a kid to sit still for long.
    Apparently I’m on your side of weirdness, I’ve tried a few times to listen to books…. just canNOT do it. I figure it’s the ADD (you say ‘magpie’ which oddly enough I find comforting)
    Seriously, what IS with people talking and sounding like questions. I’ve noticed that. Are they just so insecure about their knowledge or opinions? Are they needing another person’s confirmation for every.little.thing? Another thing… since when did ‘didn’t’ become ‘dident’? or am I the one who doesn’t say it ‘right’? oops. there’s some question marks for you.
    I’m sending you the best of wishes for a great weekend.
    XOX

  5. Nora says:

    I find listening to books incredibly soothing – reminds me of grade school when the teachers would read us a chapter of something after lunch. I’m listening to Pride and Prejudice right now, having completely skipped Jane Austen as an English major.

    Have a fab Friday!

  6. Annie says:

    I think you’re right about the schools and questions marks. It is so annoying?

    Hey, maybe you could go through the comments and collect a few exclamation points! Just for when you need them!

    I can’t watch movies either!

  7. Beth in St.C says:

    I can’t listen to the audiobooks either, as much as I wish I could. (Although I do spin and listen to podcasts. Just not books.) Knitting and reading, however, is no problem. I’m a textual learner, which means I can teach myself to do a lot of things out of books. Unfortunately it also means that I don’t learn well if people tell me how to do something. It’s always a trade-off, isn’t it?

    (Note gratuitous use of question mark.) Have a good weekend!

Leave a Reply

