High Hoe, High Hoe, It’s off to work I goe

Back to it.  I’m honestly not sorry.  I need the time away and I need the time back.  Ya know?  And, I have a job.  I refuse to grouse.  I get paid and I have benefits and everything.  Of course, like everyone else my IRA is in the stock market so my retirement has tanked.  I didn’t really think I’d get to retire anyway.  Ah, well.  My doctor (who is an adorable 40 year old) and I laughed yesterday when I said I hoped I died before I got to 80.  She agreed.  Mom, love her heart, smiled because she didn’t hear it all.  After the doctor visit, we went to lunch.  Do you guys have a Sweet Tomatoes?  I love that place.  You can get all kinds of salads and soups and baked potatoes and breads (I don’t know much about them because of the allergy thing) and Edy’s frozen custard.  Mom and I like going there because we can get it all.  Good stuff and less than good stuff.  And, Mom can get the custard and I (the food nazi) don’t say a thing.

111108pix-001 I was so hoping to annoy the little princess, but instead she snuggled under the completed but not sewn or blocked legwarmer.  I refuse to allow this to become her new blankie.  She has a knitted blankie and is not allowed another.  I don’t knit for ingrates.

Now, that I’m back at it after my little respite, I will confess that I finally went out to buy a stove and came home quite unhappy.  The salesman at H*me D*p*t was lovely.  He was accommodating and kind.  He also told me that we needed a shut-off valve at the wall.  Well, folks, we don’t have one of them, so we can’t get it installed.  After a tiny feeling of “OMG”, I called our gas utility and we will get our stove and gas connection (so that we can be up to code) and the man promised it before Thanksgiving.  Insert sigh of relief right here.

My soundtrack for the day?  Karla Bonhoff and “Someone to Lay Down Beside Me”.  I’m kinda all over the decades right now.

Have a good one?

This entry was posted in knitting, pets, soundtrack. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to High Hoe, High Hoe, It’s off to work I goe

  1. margene says:

    That’s a song I haven’t heard in a long time! Yay for the stove. I remember when trying to buy and coordinate the stove, refrigerator and floor delivery how amazingly unorganized the furniture store was!

  2. heideho says:

    Good luck with the stove. I love the new kitty blanket (ha, you just think it’s a leg warmer). We have Sweet Tomatoes out here in the Portland area too.

  3. Annie says:

    Every once in a while I have to try to annoy the cat(s) too. There is just something about cats that brings it out in me. Maybe their air of superiority and disdain.

  4. marianne says:

    Yay and rats re: the new stove… (if it’s not one thing…..)
    We don’t have Sweet Tomatoes and now I’m feeling Very Deprived.
    Whatever you have on your sofa/couch, slip cover? I LOVE it!
    Kitties. Are they ever on the same page? snort.

  5. Nora says:

    Nice cat blanket! Hope that stove arrives soonly – it’s hard to wait!

  6. emicat says:

    Hmm, Sweet Tomatoes sounds yummy on a cold, yucky day like today.

    I love the new “kitty blanket” … and it looks like someone else does too. She looks so adorable napping under the legwarmers that I want to just cuddle up on the couch w/ her. Too cute!

  7. emicat says:

    Hmm, it appears the blog ate my comment, so I’ll try again.

    The Sweet Tomatoes place sounds really yummy on a cold and yucky day as today.

    She looks so cute under her temporarily on loan kitty blanket 🙂 I just want to snuggle up right next to her on the couch!

    Welcome back to work. The thing getting me through the day today is that I have my knitting group to look forward to tonight.

  8. joyknits says:

    That “kitty blankie” looks a little small for EM anyway – I can’t imagine that she doesn’t have one of her own, but they do love to try out new ones 😉 Good luck with the stove!

Leave a Reply

