This is hard work

I remember asking Peanut (when she was about 2) if she was busy.  She was playing house.  She turned and looked at me and said in her most grown up voice “I’m working really hard.”   I have heard that play is children’s work.  I think I’d like to do that again.

Today is Thursday.  It’s cloudy and cool and, if I didn’t know better, I’d say it’s a bit depressing.  How do you see sunshine in the grey skies?  I’m working on it.  I need to find a way to make it through the winter.  This is a recent development for me.  I have always been Suzy Sunshine.  The one to see the good side.  With winter fast approaching and the reality of my life (and, I am so not alone here) with job issues and the economy, and so on, and so on; I need to find that inner focus.  I know it’s there.  I have seen it flit about like a Snitch in a Harry Potter Quidditch match.  I just haven’t quite gotten to the place where it can sit comfortably in my heart.  I will find it.  I know that much.  It’s just really hard work, isn’t it? We are all human beings.  We all must find our own way.  Our own place of serenity.  I thought I had it, but I might have misplaced it for a bit.  It will find its way home.  I’m sure of that.  I just need to be still long enough for it to get back.  I think sometimes in this modern world there are so many distractions that it’s difficult to be still and quiet.

The soundtrack of the day is a much loved one.  It’s the Nitty Gritty Dirt Bank (waaaay before they shortened it to the Dirt Band) and “Buy for Me the Rain”.

Have a good one.  Still not enough exclamation points.  Annie suggested I “recycle” the exclamation points from my comments.  There aren’t enough.  I may have to lift a few from other’s blogs.  I’m in a moral dilemma here.  Tomorrow is Friday and I’m still out of exclamation points.  You may end up with another question mark post.  I need to consult a clergyperson.

This entry was posted in soundtrack. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to This is hard work

  1. margene says:

    I’ll share a few as I haven’t used my allotment up!!!!!! How’s that. I hear you on getting through winter, but our last few days have been nice and the weekend looks sunny so I’m putting days like that in the bank. I’ll draw on them when it’s gray (like the first part of this week). Some of the suggestions I got for getting through the winter were to force bulbs (I’m going shopping this weekend) and lighting candles and creating a cozy spot in the house. I love that suggestion, too!!!!!!! It’s Thursday and that’s the best thing about this week!!

  2. joyknits says:

    Wish I could send you some of yesterday’s sunshine, plus we’ve had a couple of peeks this morning – hang in there!!!

  3. heideho says:

    Happy Thursday M’Dear! The economic forcast is as bleak as the Washington sky in winter. The yarn I purchased in Tuesday must either be made into Christmas presents for others, become Christmas presents for others or go on ebay… I knew that going in. Thank heavens gasoline prices have provided some respite. The nasty raccoons are back terrorizing our neighborhood again. Grrrr.

  4. emicat says:

    I don’t think I’ve used all of my exclamation points either, so I’ll give ’em to ya (I mean, they are tax deductible right?) hehehe

    I’m right there with you, but I usually go through this along with the change of seasons. I am looking forward to the warmth of the holidays (although I’m certain there will be a family argument thrown in there somewhere for good measure, heh) and just laying low and staying comfy and warm.

    It’s a little depressing with the economy too, but I’ve had some more changes take place at work that gives me a little job security for awhile. It’s still hard to tell what they’re doing there though, so I’m still a little cautious.

    Don’t worry, the golden snitch will return 🙂

  5. marianne says:

    Oh hey, since I’ve not posted since… April… I’m sending all the exclamation points in my ‘stash’, you are more than welcome to them….on their way :^)
    It’s there, inside you, it really hasn’t gone anywhere, it’s just needing a bit of recharging, it’ll bloom very soon for you (I’m also sending my ‘it’ over for an ‘it to it’ sit down with yours, I have full faith they’ll do just fine, at the very least they’ll have a great visit).
    Great tune, thank you!
    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    (and there’s more where those came from)

  6. Annie says:

    No worries, you can have all the exclamation points you need. Freely given. They may be slightly used, but they’re not tarnished, or stained or torn in any way. Mint condition, I’d say.

    That is one of my favorites too.

  7. Ok, since my blogs been lacking in the exclamation point department, you can have my surplus too. I’ve got probably a few million saved up for a rainey day and can spare them to a good friend like you.

    It’s a bit comforting to hear that someone else is out there feeling similar disquiet and looking for our “happy place.” I’ve been feeling much the same. I wish you peace. With peace we can handle anything. 😉 Hugs to ya darling. Big wet kisses from the big goober dog too.

  8. Nora says:

    I’ve got a full set of punctuation marks for you, except for dashes and ellipses. I use those up quickly.

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

