Be true to your school

What does that have to do with anything?  How about our weekly trip to “Ten Things on Tuesday”?  Whadyasay gang!  I wonder if there are medications for my condition?  I’m sure there are, but that’s not why we’re here, is it?  No, indeed.

I’m gonna name ten songs that I know the words to.  Sort of a take on that television show that I don’t watch and can’t remember the name, but it does have something to do with knowing lyrics so here we go:

1.  “Be true to your school” (by the Beach Boys-I can’t remember why I went into the grocery store, but I can slap down these lyrics at the drop of hat)

2.   “She wore an itsy bitsy teeny weeny yellow polka dot bikini” (there are only a couple of lines, already)

3.   “Michael rowed the boat ashore” (if you don’t know, you didn’t go to camp and are probably younger than me anyway)

4.  “Sloop John B” (the Beach Boys version, not the cool dirty one)

5.  “The Star Spangled Banner”

6.  “Louie Louie”  (the mumbled version that wasn’t dirty by the Kingsmen)

7.  “Scarborough Fair”  (yes, Simon & Garfunkel)

8.  “Pirate Ships” (a lullaby that I love dearly)

9.  “Memories” (from Cats)

10. “Twinkle Twinkle Little Star”  (such a sweet sweet little song.  a child singing this makes me tear up)

You know that’s not as easy as it appears.  I probably should have come up with ten things that mattered, but then that’s not me.  I could be doing worthwhile things, but screwing around is so much more fun!

My soundtrack?  You’re kidding right?  Of course, it’s the Beach Boys and “Be True to Your School”.  Listen and learn children.  These are important values.

Have a good one!

This entry was posted in soundtrack. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Be true to your school

  1. margene says:

    Did you know the Beach Boys wrote a song called Salt Lake City. I know the words to it.
    I really don’t know any words to songs. I mumble and stumble my way through them all! lol

  2. heideho says:

    I don’t know if I can correctly remember the words to any song. Usually I just muddle through and parrot those around me. Hope you have a terrific Tuesday.

  3. marianne says:

    What?!?!? no dirty versions? :^)
    Pirate Ships? Sounds like an exceptional lullaby to me and one I’m not at all familiar with… hmmmmm.

  4. Nora says:

    I’m much better at remembering melodies than words. That’s an impressive list!

  5. emicat says:

    I have short memory span and it takes me forever to learn the lyrics of an entire song, so I don’t even know if I can list 10 🙂

    I’m also intrigued by the Pirate Ships lullaby. I’m wondering if I’ve heard that before and just didn’t know the title, or just haven’t heard it at all. I might have to do a little ‘vestigatin’.

    I woke up this morning from a dream where I was in an earthquake. I hate earthquakes.

  6. Joy says:

    I can remember at least bits of a scary number of these (talk about remembering trivia, but don’t ask about what I *need* to remember!) – at least a couple of them were also done by the Kingston Trio 🙂

  7. Annie says:

    How do musicians do it? I can sing along (quietly, to myself) to a lot of songs, but if I have to come up with the words on my own? Not happening. Except maybe “Will the Circle be Unbroken”.

  8. sophanne says:

    for the record, there is an entire school just north of the Mason Dixon line (where I teach music) in which all of the children know all of the words to Michael Row the Boat Ashore. Not a whole lot of scouting going on around here and I felt, as the music teacher, that song should be known.

Leave a Reply

