Life is like that. Yes, it is.

My holiday weekend began on Wednesday morning with a trip to the emergency room with Mom.  She was admitted and spent the next two days in three separate rooms.  Ya gotta love a mega hospital on a holiday weekend.  Anyway, by Thanksgiving night she was toast and so was I.  I checked her out taking full responsibility for her incredibly high blood pressure.  She was completely disoriented and after her hospitalization in August where we lost a great deal of mental ground, my brother and I made the call to bring her home.  Of course, by then, poor BB had a horrible case of the stomach flu.  I came home after spending 3 hours getting Mom discharged and became ill from food poisoning (or something).  One bout and that was it.  Thankfully.  By Friday all we could do was eat a little yogurt and applesauce and sleep.  Saturday I awakened better.  Took the poor puppy for a walk and did laundry.  Mom is still rather confused.  She has lucid moments and then can’t remember where she is.  This is all part of the disease, but more than we had before.  I’m hoping today is better.  We’ll see.

Anyway,  with that going on and the realization that time is at a premium right now and will be for a while, I will not be posting regularly.  I hate this.  It is good for me and I love doing it, but reality sucks and I’m aware that if I’m going to be partially prepared for the next phase of her disease I will have to find a day care that I can live with.  It may happen this week and it may happen in a month.  I don’t know.  The wonderful thing about Alzheimer’s is that it is brutal and unpredictable.  I guess that’s like damn near all diseases, huh?

I will be posting (I can’t shut up, remember?), but it won’t be every weekday.  I will still be reading your blogs so don’t even begin to think you’re off the hook.

Here’s my soundtrack for today.  Jo Stafford and Ella in 1961.

Have a good one!

This entry was posted in family, soundtrack. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Life is like that. Yes, it is.

  1. heideho says:

    You post when you can, everyone understands. Of course we’ll all keep checking daily because we love you and think of you. Mum is fortunate to have so many loving people around her and I’m glad that she’s at home.

  2. Oh Man! I’m sure glad you are all home and all ok now. I’m sorry your holiday weekend was such a bummer. You’re right though, life is like that sometimes and time is definately a precious thing right now. I just wish I could give you a big hug. You do what you need to do and post when you can. We’ll all keep checking in with you I’m sure, just in case. 😉 Hug the Mum and give our boy a kiss on the nose for me.

  3. sophanne says:

    do you read Maple Corners blog? She might be a sharing friend.

  4. Nora says:

    Oh, honey, I’m sorry it was such a crummy weekend. You need to take care of yourself and your mom, and don’t worry about posting except when it suits you. It’s so hard to take already confused people out of their environments -you were right to bring her home. Hospitals suck.

    xo

  5. margene says:

    We’re here when you need us to be. Take care of yourself and your mom and don’t worry about us. Sending good thoughts to you and let me know if I can do anything at all to help (wish I was a bit closer).
    Hugs, hugs, hugs!!

  6. Cookie says:

    What a weekend!

    Take care of yourself and your mom and don’t worry about us. We’ll be here when you return. The life stuff is far more important.

    xo

  7. Carol says:

    I am so sorry to hear about your mother. I hope she is better soon. We just brought my husband home again on Thanksgiving so I know the stress all of you are under. Please know that all of you are in my thoughts and prayers.

  8. marianne says:

    Oh no, sweetie, I’m so sorry. rats. What a cf of a weekend.
    I hope you’re feeling better now, I hope your mum is feeling more comfortable, I’m glad you brought her back home, excellent call on your part. Don’t ye be frettin’ lass, just post when it’s right for you. Feel better soon, and that goes for everyone there, got it?
    XOXOX

  9. emicat says:

    Hope mum is feeling better. We’ll be waiting here for ya – do take care of yourself too. *hugs*

  10. Annie says:

    Oh girl I don’t even know where to start. Ok, I’ll start with a hug. Did they check for a UTI? Really any sickness or infection can affect the AD, but a very likely culprit is a UTI. I’m here for you, you know that right? I’ll end with a hug too.

  11. {{{{{HUGS}}}}}

    I’m sorry you and your family are having to go through this. It must be even worse during the holiday season too. Prayers and positive energy are headed in your direction from our home!

  12. Rachel says:

    Just hugs. You’ll update when you can. In the meantime we’ll be thinking about you.

Leave a Reply

