Slacker on Friday

I have been remiss in my duties.  Here it is, Friday, and I haven’t done my civic duty.  How pathetic.  Give me a simple job and I can’t get it right.  It’s unforgiveable (or something like that).  It has been a week since I brought Mom home from the hospital.  It was an experience I don’t ever want to repeat.  It was also one of those moments where you realize you can suck it up when you have to.  When I brought her home, we both slept on and off for about two days.  I had the stomach flu and then she got it.  We are finally gettin back up to snuff, but I must say, damn.

I knit a hat at the hospital.  Alpaca and handspun.  It’s one of Jared’s Mitred Square hats.  It is very nice and very warm and I don’t like it and will give it away.  Too many memories of the yuck experience.  It was not horrible because we all escaped with only the stomach flu.  But, still, not one I wish to remember with a handknit.  I might see if my big brother would like it.  He rides his bike year round and this hat is very very warm.  If not, it will go to the homeless.  I will get a picture before I send it on its way.

I have also been Christmas knitting.  I am on the tail end of the tasks that I “intend” to have finished by the 25th.  I have a couple other things I want to turn out, but with the way things have been since around the 15th of November, I’m backing off the stress knitting.  These are knits of love and I want to take my time.  Both recipients are knitters and will appreciate the time, effort and quality.  So.  I will begin those when I finish the rest of the Christmas “task” knitting.

My soundtrack for the day?  Peter Sellers as Queen Victoria and Richard III on “The Muppet Show”.

Have a wonderful weekend!

This entry was posted in family, Friday, knitting, soundtrack. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Slacker on Friday

  1. throwslikeagirl74 says:

    Oh my gosh. Tuned chickens. It doesn’t get any better than that.

  2. margene says:

    You deserve to be cut some slack for all you’ve been through the last couple of weeks. While we love having you tell us it’s Friday we don’t NEED you to tell us it’s Friday as much as we need to know you’re doing well (at least as well as can be expected). Sending good thoughts and hugs.

  3. Cookie says:

    I agree with Margene.

    Take care of yourself and your mom. We’ll be okay. My computer always knows what day it is.

    xo

  4. marianne says:

    What Margene said, exactly. That said, I’m so happy to ‘see’ you today!!! Glad you and your mum are feeling better, seriously, are there things much worse than a stomach flu? I’d like to think not, but, ok, there are worse things but ewwww, right? Not to mention the aftermath… drained of energy.
    Peter Sellers, what a gem. always.
    Hugs and loads of them.
    XOXOX

  5. Joy says:

    What Margene said – DO take care of yourself. Thanks for the hilarious clip – loved Peter Sellers!

  6. emicat says:

    Yes, like others have said, please do take care of yourself too.

    Hope the rest of the holidays is smooth sailing for you and mum and that you have lightning quick knitted FOs to finish your Christmas knitting 🙂

Leave a Reply

