It’s December the whatth??????

OK. I know I have a reason to be a bit behind on this whole Christmas thing, but I’m more than a bit behind. My house is not decorated (meaning the tree, which is always fake, is not up yet). This is a travesty. Soooooo, I’m going to get the darned thing up this week. I love having the tree and it’s little white lights in the house. It brightens everything up. Makes the day and darkness more festive and cheerful.  And, I love hanging the ornaments.  All have special meaning and love.  But, Saturday I was cold and busy and Sunday was busy until 1:00 p.m. and then I was just too tired and spent the afternoon knitting on Christmas gifts.  I love doing this, but will be very happy to be done with the stress knitting.

So, how was your weekend?  It’s colder than Billy-be-doggone here in Middle Earth.  That, my friends, is a Mom saying.  My mother uses profanity, like, never.  I remember as a kid hearing her say “Judas Priest” as if it was a “damnation all to hell.”  We used to laugh when she would say it.  On occasion when things were really annoying, she would say “damn” or “shit”.  But that’s it.  Not me.  I swear like a sailor.

And, my soundtrack for the day?  Not music, but Porky Pig.  I love this clip.

Have a good one!

This entry was posted in family, soundtrack. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It’s December the whatth??????

  1. marianne says:

    LOL! I’d never seen that, how FUNNY. (where’s the rhino that just snorted in here) plus spewing of coffee was involved. I needed that, thank you.
    Oh Tannenbaum, good for you, at least you’re inspired. The jury is still ‘out’ here.
    ‘Billy be dog-gone’ cute. I’ve a sailor’s mouth as well. Oddly enough my father WAS a sailor/in the Navy, 7 years and I never heard him swear, not even a ‘billy be dog-gone’… nada… except one of those Tuesdays he spent with my 3 kids, they reduced him to a fine stream of obscenities which just shocked the holy hell out of them all. I wish I could’ve witnessed that one.
    Funny how non-swearers can make their words sound like the actual ones…in spirit anyway. my mother is rather prudish re: swearing but in the past couple of years she’s dropped the F-Bomb, I blame that last one on Palin.
    Happy Monday to You!
    XOX

  2. heideho says:

    Cute cartoon! Christmas trees are wonderfully happy. I love the “cussing” from Mum. She’s a true lady.

  3. Nora says:

    Love it – my mom had a salty tongue but she was never vulgar. My friends still thought it was rather shockingly hilarious that she’d say “shit.”

  4. margene says:

    Ha, ha, ha, !!! That’s a good one. I swear like two sailors but I’m trying to be less mouthy just for the hell of it. Happy Monday…can Monday’s be happy? I need to pull out a few ornaments tonight and put up some lights, too.

  5. emicat says:

    Heheheh love the cartoon! Well I’m the one nicknamed “Betty Crocker w/ the Trucker Mouth” so that outta explain that I don’t have a problem mouthing my frustrations 😉

    Funny thing about my mom – although she’s got a pretty hard accent when she speaks English, by golly, when she uses profanity, it disappears and she uses it like a pro! I always found that funny.

    I had a pretty nice weekend – I got a lot done (hat #3 finito last night!)

Leave a Reply

