Pfriday. The “P” is silent……

Like in psychiatrist, psychic, pneumonia. And, a lovely Pfriday to you all! This is the very last and final Pfriday before PChristmas and PHanukkah. Are we all Pready?

I sure hope to heck you are. I’m so not ready. I was planning on finishing my shopping (and, Mom’s too) on Saturday morning, but will stay home now because a group from our church is coming to sing carols to my Mom that morning. She will love it, but is quite flustered when she is alone, so I don’t want her to become unstrung. I think it’s just so dear of them to think of her. She’s not been able to attend church since early October and has felt a bit disconnected from them all. So, I will try to go out Saturday P.M. and get the shopping done. Sunday, I’m baking. That’s all there is to it. I love to bake and don’t usually take the time, but I will this year. I’ve made a decision to bake bar cookies and if I can’t whip those babies out on Sunday, I’m turning in my spatula.

I called Animal Control yesterday and found out that my dear little Missy pup was picked up by her family on Monday. I can’t tell you how relieved (and heartbroken) I feel right now. Of course, yesterday I went out and bought a month’s worth of dog food, so I know I couldn’t really afford another dog. But, I would have found a way somehow if her family hadn’t picked her up. Still, it’s all good for her and her family.

And, for the soundtrack of the day? Veggietales and Larry the Cucumber with a silly Christmas song:

This is family friendly and stupid. I love it. Have a wonderful weekend and I’ll see you next week!

This entry was posted in family, Friday, pets, soundtrack. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Pfriday. The “P” is silent……

  1. margene says:

    You goof! You have a way of starting my day with a laugh. Larry IS silly.
    So sorry about Missy, but how wonderful her family cared enough to find her.
    I wish I enjoyed baking. Not that I need to eat what I bake (nor does Smith), but I love the smell and the memories Christmas baking brings. Enjoy and have a wonderful weekend!

  2. heideho says:

    I’m happy for Missy but sad for you. I’m sure that she will always remember her adventure away from home and the guardian angel who found and looked after her. Today I intend to address Christmas cards and wrap some packages. We finally got some real snow to go with the freezing temps so the girls can go outside and play once the sun comes up. Take care and hugs to you all.

  3. emicat says:

    I still have a few little gifts to get, but with the ice and snow around here, I can’t venture out. A few inches on the ground and the area here goes into panic mode.

    If I can’t get out to buy bread, guess I’ll have to make it from scratch 🙂

    I also plan to do some holiday baking with what supplies I have on hand, so we’ll see how it turns out!

    I’m also happy and sad that the husky found her family, but she would’ve made a nice addition to yours too.. she was lucky to have come across you guys though!

    Have a wonderful weekend!

  4. Rachel says:

    Your first paragraph got a laugh out of me.

    I’m happisad that the puppy went home, but how cute would Grover and Missy would have been (and what a handful!). *hug* for you and your mother. Happy Holidays!

  5. marianne says:

    Rat bastards bloglines didn’t pick you up for me this morning… but I just KNEW you’d be here for Pfriday.
    Happysad… yep, that’s it alright. I’m glad her humans found their way to her but I’m telling you, I’d have helped fund the kibble for that Missy. in a heart beat.
    Not ready. not at all. partly. just partly.
    The baking and cooking will start up again…. Monday and continue through to Christmas Eve. at which point the gobbling will commence.
    How sweet of the church group to come a carolin’ for your mum.
    Puffickly HaYooge hugs to you, your mum, and Groverboy.
    XOXOX

  6. Nora says:

    That’s worth staying home from shopping for.

    Veggie Tales – too funny. My kids used to love those guys…

  7. Annie says:

    Bar cookies rule!

  8. ruth housman says:

    It’s Pink Floyd The WALL, hello hello is there anybody out there….you are coming through in waves…..when I was a child I had a fleeting dream, out of the corner of my eye….

    Familiar yet?

    So strange, I woke with this song and was looking for the full text of the words and came instantly to this Web Site.

    life is about knit and purl.

    it all surely knits together and it’s a weave, a we’ve, what we have, what we’ve been given

Leave a Reply

