Clap your hands if you’re happy…..

Or don’t.  Whatever.

It’s been that kind of a week. Yes, it’s only Tuesday, but it’s been a royal pain in the pitooty. I wish I could say it’s all me, but it isn’t. It is my interpretation and processing of the experiences, but I haven’t been the problem. If there weren’t bosses (and mine is the best in the world) or clients, I’d be a happy employee.  Of course, you need clients to be employed so this, once again, is flawed logic.

dsc00190

Today I’m wandering down memory lane.  This is the very first stole I ever knit.  It’s the North Sea stole from Cheryl Oberle’s Folk Shawls book.  I believe it was 2005.   I used some sort of Elann yarn and I love it dearly and my Mom has started wearing it constantly.  It is 100% wool, but aside from that I’m clueless (see yesterday’s post please).  I made it a bit shorter because she’s so darned little (maybe, 4’10”).   It was my very first lace and now that I look at it I see many problems with it, but ya know?   I’m still very proud of this baby.

I got feedback from Lil Bit on the leg warmers I made her.  She has worn them and they are warm.  You know that is all I need.  She has used them and they have done their job.  Yay!

I hope to be more interesting and less pissy tomorrow.  If not, you might want to just let the blog burn out and smolder for a while.  Don’t bother with water.  On your way here, if it smells like burning tires, just mosey on by.

And, my soundtrack today?  We Five and “You Were On My Mind”.  This group (although strange and unusual even for the time) was talented and amazing.  We have two of their albums and they were versatile and a joy to hear.  No clue what happened to them.

Have a good one!

This entry was posted in knitting, rant, soundtrack. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Clap your hands if you’re happy…..

  1. margene says:

    Clients in any business are pains in the pitooty…can’t live with them or without them. What did happen to We Five? They were another one hit wonder that just evaporated away.
    The stole is gorgeous! I’ve had that on my (long) list of shawls to do.

  2. Emiko says:

    That’s a beautiful first stole! I bought the newest Nancy Bush lace book because the photos were just too beautiful to not come home with me. Someday, I hope to knit one…someday 🙂

    I fortunately don’t have to deal with clients directly too much (and if I do, it’s usually though email) and although my boss can be a pain in the rear and quite annoying at times, it could be much worse, so I don’t complain too much. But I can sure be cranky when I wanna be 🙂

    Yup, I’m ready for another extended weekend.. but alas, not until February I think… ugh.

  3. Nora says:

    Wow – that was quite an undertaking (and a great result) for a first shawl!

  4. joyknits says:

    Since I work freelance, I can’t really complain about the boss, can I? 😉

    That’s an awesome first stole for sure – it’s great that your Mom’s enjoying it! Stay warm.

  5. redfear says:

    That’s your FIRST? wow!

  6. Annie says:

    That is beautiful! I want to be able to do lace. I just can’t.

  7. marianne says:

    http://www.officialwefive.com/band_history.htm

    go. read.

    Wow. Your North Sea stole? aMAzing, and your first?!?!? I’d be mighty proud of that baby too! She’s a Beauty and how wonderful that your mom is enjoying it.

    Some days are pissy. Some days are pukey. One of my.. ahem.. clients (hahah Gracie) was pukey Monday, oh joy, and yesterday although no longer pukey was feeling a little too fragile for school soooo, there you have my past two days.
    (I’m playing ‘catch up’)

Leave a Reply

