Verily I say unto you, ’tis Monday

I’m on a roll here, forsooth. Alas and alack, I cannot really go on because it requires too much thought. I shall, therefore, cease and desist with the verilys and forsooths. At least for today.

It is cold here in Middle Earth.  Unusual, I know, for January, but I’ve been pondering a post by the Yarn Harlot.  Did you read the one about her daughter asking her for a matching hat, scarf and mittens?  She said you can tell knitters because their scarves, hats, and gloves/mittens never match.  Damn. She was dead on –for this knitter.  Many times they aren’t even in the same color family.  I feel like I’m wearing a crayon box.  But, this is what amazes me.  I never ever realized it.  So, I will be very aware when I knit something new for myself, I’m gonna have to find compatible colors (at least).  Still, it makes me smile to think that the matchy matchy stuff never occurred to me.

This picture is one of the fingerless mitts I knit for Max’s birthday (two weeks ago).012109pix-005It’s out of Paton’s Wool.  It’s the Men’s Notwoven Fingerless Mitt pattern (Ravelry link).  One turned out perfectly, but the second one is about an inch short.  I gave them to Max anyway.  I’ll knit him another pair.  I was a bit unhappy that I had messed around with them for two weeks after his birthday anyway.  I can highly recommend the pattern.  It’s fun to knit.

Here’s Esau Marie.  She has been such a help with the laundry.  I wash it, dry it, and fold it and bring it upstairs.  And, then, considerate little thing that she is, she lays on it and sleeps.  When you try to take it away, she hisses and growls at you.  Then, she tries to bite you.  What a little dumplin’, huh?

012109pix-003My soundtrack for today?  “The Whistler” by Jethro Tull.  You can never go wrong with the classics.

Have a good one!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Verily I say unto you, ’tis Monday

  1. Nora says:

    I think Kitty might have a slight attitude problem.

    Fun mitts!

  2. joyknits says:

    Nice mitts! Wonder if EM and Amber have been comparing note on cattitude 😉

  3. heideho says:

    Silly human! You should never mess with the Queen’s bed once she’s arranged it to her liking. I love the gray, rustic, warm look of the fingerless mitts. Lately I’ve been wanting to knit mostly natural colors and earth tones. These are perfect and my mind is a spinning now on future projects. Cheers!

  4. margene says:

    Verily, I love the mitts and Smith might like them, too. Forsooth….kitties must never be moved when sleeping soundly. Alas and alack, it’s Monday….it’s cold and snowing…bleh.

  5. Emiko says:

    I like the non matchy-matchyness of being a knitter though 🙂 Funny thing though, is that I seem to be drawn to the spring-y greens as of late, because I’ve bought several yarns in that shade of green, so without even thinking about it, I was going to knit things that would match each other 🙂

    Esau Marie’s doing a good job “guarding” the laundry and hissing at those who get near. It’s a good thing she’s there to guard it 😉

  6. sophanne says:

    I am also no matchy no matchy. Why is that?

    Luvs me some Jethro Tull.

    Thick as a Brick a personal fave.

  7. Max says:

    They’re nothing like an inch off. They’re delightful and warm, and I love the bloody things. AND, they’ll match the Tam that S.W.M.B.O. is knitting me.

    So shut it!

    Lv
    Mx

  8. Annie says:

    Love the mitts.

    Cats sure are entitled little creatures, aren’t they?

  9. marianne says:

    Oh Sweetie, how I’ve missed you. I’m playing catch up having brought home with me dry sinuses, a throbbing head that wouldn’t give it up and even now feeling much like a soggy tissue. Alas and Alack, indeed!
    but you’ve brought smiles and chuckles, grins and giggles to this decrepit old woman :^)
    love the mitts and that Max. so what? ‘sweetheartness’ just runs in the family, eh?
    EM…. sweet lil dumplin’ is right, hee.
    onward to next post

Leave a Reply

