We had a taste of spring here

This weekend was lovely. On Friday the temps were in the upper 60’s. On Saturday they were around 65 or 66. Lovely. I think I can make it through the rest of the winter now.  At least, for now.

51507pix-001 This is a rose from 2 years ago.  I just had to put in something blooming and pretty since the landscape here in Middle Earth is brown and drab.  A bloom to look forward to.

Now, for the knitting.  I looked on Ravelry (what a fabulous idea this was and is) and found knitted edges in the lace knitting group.  I found one i like and thought would look good with the PurplePi.  I am ruffling the edge and now have approximately 4 million stitches on the needles.  I spent yesterday knitting the adds for the ruffle and the next set up row.  I’ll add more the next time around and then do another set up row and then start the lace part.  Does this make any sense?  Probably not.  I know what I’m doing (I think), but I can’t explain myself well.  The ultimate reason the counselor advised me not to go into teaching.

And, sweet dear Heide sent me a birthday present.  She sent me a gift certificate for Knit Picks.  Thank you so much, kiddo!  I have spent it four different ways already.  I’m having a blast.  When I finally decide for sure, I’ll let you all know what I got!!  Thank you all for your birthday wishes.  A special thanks to Margene for bringing it up;–)  And, another special thanks to Heide for writing her entire post about my birthday and me.

The weekend was lovely.  It is amazing what a bit of spring does for your soul when you have had your fill of winter.  And, I do apologize to those of you who have been hammered far worse than we have.  I have always admitted to being a weather weiny.

And, the soundtrack today?  How’s about some more Byrds?  This is one I love and I don’t think it was very widely played.  “Have You Seen Her Face?”

Have a good one!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to We had a taste of spring here

  1. margene says:

    Yay for resurrecting Purple Pi. You’ll love it and the ruffles will be worth knitting tenbilliontyeleven stitches. I’m mad at USPS because you should have had a package on Friday. Darn them!

  2. joyknits says:

    You’ll love Purple Pi when she’s done – hang in there! I think we’re *nearly* rid of the ice here too 🙂

  3. heideho says:

    Hooray for blooms (who cares when the photo was taken, it’s gorgeous) and for warmer temperatures. Everyone I know has had an arseful of winter. Please post pictures of purple pi when you can. Have a magnificent Monday!

  4. Emiko says:

    I’m looking forward to spring too – there’s talk of snow here this morning in nearby areas and maybe more tomorrow.

    I have a knitting class I’ve been looking forward to this Friday and this snow better not interfere!!! 🙂

    Love the photo of the rose – it’s a beauty and it gives me hope that spring is somewhat around the corner (hopefully sooner than later).

  5. marianne says:

    Awww, I just went and read Heide’s post, sweeeet. and hey, your birthday being the same day as Bob Marley, how cool is that? ain’t he the lucky dude? (well, you know, I still miss him).
    Lovely rose, I’m betting it smelled pretty good too.
    Looking forward to PurplePi and I’m all excited for you, re: Margene’s package, maybe it’ll be there when you get home :^)

    Possibly related posts… the nipples of dragons?

  6. Annie says:

    I look forward to seeing the Purple Pi with ruffled edging. I also look forward to spring. It is warm and the snow it melting fast here. It’s going to be bad when it refreezes though.

  7. Julie says:

    Belated Happy Birthday wishes!

  8. Nora says:

    Happy birthday (a few days late) – what a cool post by Heide!!

    It’s that really ugly time of year here – mud, old gray snow, brown grass… but that means that soon spring will come!

  9. Lucinda says:

    Here’s another belated Happy Birthday! February certainly is a good month for birthdays.

    I feel the same way about the weather this past weekend; it did wonders for my mood as well.

Leave a Reply

