Fat Tuesday celebrations

It sounds much better as Mardi Gras, doesn’t it?    The party to end all parties for Mardi Gras has always been New Orleans (in the USA).  St. Louis has become a close second.  In fact,like New Orleans, the festivities last for a couple of weeks.  It’s quite fun and exactly what is needed in the dead of February.  One thing I have noticed that is not discussed much is the King Cake.  It’s a sweet bread with a filling and icing and decorations.  It is also filled with this:

kingcake021509-003

It’s blurry because it’s really little and my camera doesn’t have good close-up capabilities.  It’s a plastic baby.  This little tyke is inserted in the King Cake and whoever gets it supplies the King Cake for the next year.  I made the cake (it’s alot like brioche)

kingcake021509-004

Then, I let it cool a little bit and added the icing.  The final bit was the sugars in Mardi Gras colors, of course!!

kingcake021509-005

Those colors regardless of your monitor are green, gold and purple.  BTW, it was quite delicious.

And, since we’re on a roll.  Here’s my soundtrack for today.  Look at the hair and the shoulders.  So, 1987;–)

Have a good one!

P.S.  Nobody has copped to finding the baby yet.  It’ll probably be Mom or me since I’m the one who bakes the most.  It really doesn’t matter, but adds to the fun.

P.S.S.  I know Fat Tuesday isn’t until next week.  We took some liberties.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Fat Tuesday celebrations

  1. margene says:

    It’s a wonderful tradition no matter when you celebrate. I’d love a piece and I’ll bring the tea.

  2. Nora says:

    Fun! I had never heard of King Cake until I worked at my present location – we always have a couple send over by a retired department member.

    The baby freaks me out a little!

  3. heideho says:

    “Throw me somethin’ Mister!” Whoo hoo. When I was stationed in Biloxi, MS back in 1992 I got to head on over to Nawlins. Unfortunately, or perhaps fortunately, I wasn’t granted leave until the weekend following Mardi Gras. It was still nuts and beads could be seen hanging from the strangest places.

  4. joyknits says:

    Neat King Cake – we’re watching for the Polish Paczki (“punch-key” – essentially jelly donuts that are special for Fat Tuesday – yum!). Laissez le bon temps roulez … St Louis has definitely become a notbed of Mardi Gras festivities. Loved the shots on tv of the Barkus Dog Parade over the weekend!

  5. Cookie says:

    Good lookin’ cake!

    Thank you for the pps. I was sitting here wondering if I’d lost a week somewhere or something.

  6. marianne says:

    Mmmm, that cake looks GOOD! recipe? kinda like? now I’m also wanting a jelly donut… sigh.
    Will you be baking another cake next week? :^)
    May I join Margene and stop by for a bit?

  7. Peanut says:

    The king cake was good – just chiming in. (Mom gave me some on laundry night. With the leftover chocolate covered strawberries *drool*)

  8. Emiko says:

    I’ve always wanted to try King Cake – I love brioche, so I’m certain I’d love that too. Love the colors used on top too!

    Knowing me, I’d probably shove my piece of King Cake into my mouth and not realize that I may be chomping down (and perhaps swallowing!) the little plastic baby… I mean, how small is that thing anyway? 🙂

  9. Pingback: Not much happening … « Joyknits!

Leave a Reply

