Holy Cow! It’s an infield Random Wednesday!!!

Today is mid-week. Lovely. Mom said last night that she wanted to start going outside and sitting in the evening. I explained to her that it was just a tad early. We have 40F and it’s breezy. Just a tiny bit too chilly to sit. But, I can’t help but agree with the sentiment.    I’m ready for Spring.

kingcake021509-006

Thank you, Heide.  This is my birthday present from you!  The book Wrap Style and four skeins of fingering Knitpicks Gloss for a shawl.  It’s perfect.  Thank you again!!!  I’m having a bit of trouble not casting on right now!!!

I am currently knitting a present for Frannie.  A dear friend.  Her birthday is next week (if my faulty memory serves me).  It is a cowl in Malabrigo worsted.  I love this yarn.  It’s heaven.  The colors are her, too.  I will share a picture when it is completed.   It’s knitting up pretty darned fast.

Otherwise, I have been holding my own.  Not accomplishing a heck of a lot, but not losing much ground either.  I am slowly learning not to compare myself to other knitters who are much faster and more prolific that I.  I can enjoy their beautiful knits and produce a nice one myself as I can.  It’s the process, right? I am also working on getting to the gorgeous roving that Margene sent me for my birthday.  It is in a proud and proper place on the dining room table awaiting the wheel.

So, I will leave you with my soundtrack for today.  I’m feeling a bit silly and when I feel this way, I do loves me the Smothers Brothers.  Here they are in an old clip of “Boil That Cabbage Down”.  Brilliant comedians and terrific musicians.  Enjoy.

Have a good one!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Holy Cow! It’s an infield Random Wednesday!!!

  1. margene says:

    You’re doing just fine. When the time changes (March 8th, can you believe it?) it might be warm enough to sit outside for a short time. I’m hoping the light will bring spring. 😉
    I spun a bit of the alpaca/bamboo and it slides like buttah through the fingers. Enjoy!

  2. marianne says:

    Yes, dearest, it is the process and you ARE doing Fine.
    Sweet, what a fabulous book and the Gloss is gorgeous, what a pretty colour!
    Huh? March 8th? seriously?
    Monday I spent 5 hours raking up the last leafy crap in the front yard, finally. The trees are bare so shouldn’t have to think about it until next Fall… unless the neighbor’s leaves get blown over here. bah.
    Happy Wednesday! XOXOX (I have always loved those Brothers)

  3. heideho says:

    Glad to know I have such good taste! I’m a prolific starter, but I seldom seem to finish projects. At least you continue on with what you’ve started. Dedication beats the heck out of ubiquitous starts anyday. I think there are many of us starters out there. You have a wonderful Wednesday dear friend.

  4. Emiko says:

    I went from being a one-project committal to whoring myself out with multiple projects… downfall to that is now I can’t find my size 6’s for my interchangeable needles and have no idea what I used it to CO for (yes, I looked on Ravelry too)…. 🙂

    Beautiful b-day prezzie. Can’t wait to see that all knit up!

    You can include me in the ready to sit outside weather folk. I’m soooooo ready!

  5. Nora says:

    Oh, what a wonderful birthday gift! I just adore that book – so many good things. Including my favorite Shetland Triangle.

    March 8! That rocks.

    xo

  6. Joy says:

    That yarn is a beautiful color – *definitely* take time to enjoy the process! Many of the faster knitters probably aren’t dealing with as many things. I haven’t tried the Malabrigo worsted, but I’m certainly in lurve with the laceweight!

  7. Lucinda says:

    Happy Birthday! Yarnie birthday presents are best. That’s a gorgeous color, too.

  8. Cookie says:

    What a wonderful gift! That yarn is a lovely color.

    I’ll be happy when I can stand in the sun for a few minutes without being blown away. The warm part of spring will be a very nice thing to see indeed.

    Good for you! Your knitting is personal to you and it’s not a race with anyone. Ignore me and the socks. We’re watching too much tv and not getting enough fresh air.

    xo

  9. Rachel says:

    Happy birthday!!!

Leave a Reply

