It’s finally Fureyeday!

Yes, folk. It is the last day of the last work week in the month of our Lord, February, 2009.   HAPPY FRIDAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  And, the naming of this particular Friday comes from a childhood experience that came to mind when I was considering the title.  When I was a child my Mom had a fox stole.  Those of you born after the late 60’s (I’m guessing here) will not understand, but I’ll bet some of you remember those.   Well, Mom was very proud of hers when she first got it and I was quite small.  Now a fox stole was actually fox pelts sewn together in the shape of a fox.  You would wrap it around your shoulders and then a little clip in the “mouth” of the fox would grab the “tail” and you would be warm and cozy.  They also had “eyes” .  Little plastic eyes.  Insensitive and cruel in these times, but not back then.  My poor Mom.  She felt dressed up and was very chic, but when I was around (and, I was around alot because baby sitters were very very expensive) she had to turn the fox’s “eyes” away from me so that it wouldn’t stare.  Poor dear finally just put the thing away to shut me up.

And, you know what?  My BSIL had a size 4 circular needle for me.  Isn’t that sweet?  Anyway, she sent it home for me taped to a Ritz cracker box (Hint of Salt) so that it wouldn’t get misplaced.  We are nothing if not resourceful here in Middle Earth.   Eccentric, but resourceful.  It is a lovely needle and it was helpful, but I am afraid I’m gonna have to buy one because this PurplePi is one big mama, and BSIL’s needle has a 24″ cable.  I think I’m gonna need every bit of another 60″ size 4.   It’s one of those situations where you don’t want to spend the money, but you know you want the shawl to look right so you don’t want to skimp, but you really don’t want to spend the money, but you know you should, and will.

I’m going to work on the camera issues this weekend.  Wish me luck.  One way or another I want to get a picture of PurplePi.  I’m concerned she’s getting so big she’s going to tackle one of us and demand a SOAK bubble bath and chocolate.

This is the last weekend before the DST change to “spring forward”.  I’m looking forward to more daylight.

I’m sending you off to your weekend with the Beatles and “My Life”.

Have a wonderful weekend!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It’s finally Fureyeday!

  1. margene says:

    At least you were able to try the needle technique and see if it worked. The box trick is very resourceful! In My Life is one of my favorite early Beatles songs.

  2. heideho says:

    I remember seeing those stoles around, but I don’t think anyone in my family actually owned one. Taxidermy eyes are rather creepy, but gaping eye sockets would have probably sent many a small child completely over the edge. Hmm, now I’m wondering about factories that make forms, eyes, etc. for taxidermists. I’m going to post a picture on my blog this morning of what happens when you take a dead critter to a schizophrenic shop for stuffing. I love that song. Should you decide to buy a large needle then I recommend the Addi Lace. The points really make lace knitting easier and they come with really long cable lengths. Cheers!

  3. Pingback: Is it Friday Yet? « Serendipitous Opportuknitty

  4. marianne says:

    Good going on the circ! (you really do have a glorious SIL).
    I love that song, I never tire of hearing it. It’s always good to ‘see’ George and John, eh?
    Happy Fureyeday (yes, I DO remember seeing those when I was a child, creeeepy) and Happy Weekend!
    XOX

  5. Annie says:

    My aunt had one of those.

    My Dad did taxidermy. We had little boxes of eyes in drawers, dead animals in our freezer (not ones waiting to be eaten, either) and deer heads in various stages of stuffing in our basement. Our only bathroom was in the basement. It could be a traumatic experience.

  6. Nora says:

    Nothing like the Beatles.

    My mom had one of those, although I’m reasonably certain it was fake. Freaky!!

    xo

Leave a Reply

