As we random along

There is a general sense of pissiness here in Middle Earth.  Spring is taking her sweet time getting here.  We have no reason or right to complain.  We have no snow on the ground.  We have ok temperatures.  So, there is no rhyme or reason for this general pissiness.  I just reread that and I used reason twice.  Give her a “C” for mediocre writing skills.  I’m feeling rather pissy about the weather myself, but it’s extremely hard to justify.  I want to get out in the yard and work, but it is a tad difficult when the temps are in the 20’s and the wind is blowing like mad.  Oh, sure, we have no snow and the cold and wind is merely an excuse, but I’m a weiny remember?  I admire you Yanks who can endure the 9 months of winter, 1 month of spring,  1 month of summer and 1 month of fall.  I salute you!

I still don’t have the Size 4 60″ lace circular needles required for PurplePi.  I should have them this week.  Whilst I am wating for them, I have been crocheting on the Infinity Wrap.  Slowly, but steadily moving along.  That, and my evening 10 minutes of spinning and things are rolling merrily along.  Not speedily, but enjoyably.

I’ll have to tell you my idiotic story because it is so me.  I realized on Sunday that my driver’s license had expired on my birthday.  The state of Missouri are a bunch of cheap-asses, so I didn’t get any notice, so I’m almost 30 days past.  Well, now that terrorism is such a big issue, to renew your license here in Middle Earth you must present your Social Security card, a birth certificate and a bill with your current address.   Being smug and clever, I knew I had the birth certificate, but was unsure about the Social Security card, so I went hunting for them.  I found my Social Security card immediately.  That should have been a warning for me.  But, noooooooooo, I’m not that smart.  I kept looking and looking and after an hour and a half, had the uncomfortable realization that I didn’t have my birth certificate.  I thought I did.  I was positive I did.  But I didn’t.  Dammit.   So, because the internet makes all things possible, if not a particularly good idea, I ordered a copy of my birth certificate.  I had to pay almost $40  for something that should be mine for nothing, but I’ll try to let that go and breath deeply and serenly and not get infuriated because it is so wrong.  Somebody is making a profit on our births and abilities to lose our important documents.  OK.  They’re making a profit on my ability to lose my important documents.  Now, I can’t go get my license renewed until I get the certificate.  I just hope I don’t have to retake the test.  I don’t have a good feeling about that at all.

And, since the camera batteries are charged, but darkness prevails, and I am pictureless, let’s have some Mitch Ryder and the Detroit Wheels with “See Jenny Ride”

Have a good one!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to As we random along

  1. margene says:

    Bureaucracy is such a pain and there is just too much red tape! It’s a PITA. I hope the rest of the process goes smoothly. We have near 60 degrees (this morning!) and high winds. No spring (we really don’t want it yet), no winter….just brown and dry.

  2. marianne says:

    Pissy? no really, how do you feel?
    Sorry about the license. pita indeed! Down here in S.Middle Earth when they take the photo they now compare it to your old one, well a computer does, meh and bah, AND they make you take your glasses off now (which of course confuses said computer because in your old photo you were wearing the glasses) and so you’ve got the computer thinking it’s not you and the knuckleheads taking the new photo looking at said new photo and old photo and the person in real life sitting across from them..and they’re looking doubtful??? MEH and BAH!
    I’m not quite ready to dive into the yard work routine yet, not at all. I’d like to see some SNOW!
    Happy Wednesday, Sweetie.
    XOXOX

  3. heideho says:

    Are you sure you’re not a terrorist? I think you should cross your eyes and stick out your tongue for the DMV photo. I had the cajones to do that with my Costco membership card, but I backed out when renewing my license last year. Hope the blahs go away soon. Happy Wednesday!

  4. Emiko says:

    I’m a little (ok a lot) pissy lately too, so must be going around 😉

    I hate going to the DMV, so I’ve been renewing online whenever I can. I can think of 293492349237432 other things than waiting around there. And don’t get me started w/ the whole birth certificate thing. They are making money off us who know we have the document but just can’t find it (at least for me, because I’m a paper whore and keep crap I don’t need to hold onto). We had to go through that when my boyfriend and I had to go get passports for our trip last year.

    Aaaaanyway, we’re halfway there this week right? Thank goodness!

    P.S. yes, if you send prezzies, she will post LOL nahh, I actually didn’t realize how much time went by since my last post. Sorry! 🙂

  5. Nora says:

    Every time we need one of our kids’ birth certificates, we look in the safe deposit box. Every time we look, it’s not there. We trot to the courthouse for another. We think we put it in the safe deposit box when finished. Rinse and repeat.

    Ugghhhhh!!!!

Leave a Reply

