Spring came and went

We had 79F yesterday.  Today it’s in the 40’s.  I’m just a bit disappointed in Ms. Spring.  It’s fine that she came for a visit, but she left without leaving a forwarding address.  Rude bitch.

march82009-003

Oh, sure.  We have some spring flowering bulbs.  One last snowdrop.  Some crocuses or crocii?  Whatever a multitude of crocus might be.  But, I’m concerned now that we’ll have temperatures cold enough to burn the foliage of the daffodils and tulips and hyacinths.  That would be cruel and unattractive.  Mother Nature is a tough broad.   Yet, I never cease to admire what the old girl does with color and composition.  I have to hand to her.  She’s got the touch.  I uncovered the bulbs, but did not remove the old leaves.  I wanted to leave some cover for perennials and bulbs.

march82009-004

march82009-005

Thank you all for your kinds remarks about PurplePi.  I still haven’t counted the stitches and might just let it go.  I’m afraid it would make me physically ill if I did count them.  I figure it’s more than a bunch when it’s on 3 circulars.  Still, I’m plugging onward and upward with her.  I have at least 10 to 15 more rows before I can even consider binding off (I may be at that for another 2 years!).  I’ll keep you posted, but spare you anymore pics since she looks the same, just a bit older.

I have even started perusing the shawl and stole patterns in my queue on Ravelry for the next shawl/stole project.  I cannot allow myself to cast on until PurplePi is completed (the knitting anyway), but I’m hankering to cast on a new lace shawl.

And, since I’m on a Joe Cocker binge, here’s Joe with Leon Russell and “Cry Me A River”.  Didn’t he have a pretty smile?

Please go by and wish my grrlfriend, Margene, a very happy birthday!!!  It appears I jumped the gun.  It’s not until Saturday.  So, have a happy birthday week, Sweetie!!!  And, have a good one!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Spring came and went

  1. margene says:

    Spring is fickle…she is always fickle. You can’t count on her.
    She’ll come and go and hurt your feelings with ever passing day. It’s 25 here today…that’s how I know her true self…. Bitch that she is.

    Psst….birthday is Saturday and I think you very much for the birthday wishes.

  2. margene says:

    That should be thank you;-)

  3. joyknits says:

    Pretty flowers, but definitely chilly this morning – I got up to 20. Counting stitches on a pi can be scary! 😉

  4. Emiko says:

    wow, you have that shawl on 3 circs??? Holy cow! I’d be scared to count stitches myself 🙂

    79 degrees eh? You lucky lady, even if for one day – our high yesterday was 40, but it wasn’t raining or snowing, so I guess I’ll shut up.

    The flowers in your yard are a sign that lady spring is coming back and will stick around for a couple months, just like she does every year. I can’t wait to see tulips and daffs popping up!

  5. marianne says:

    It’s 28 here, 9am, brrrrr. That Spring… has a mind of her own that’s for sure.
    I’d count those stitches for you. I would.
    XOXOX

  6. Annie says:

    Those photos about made me cry. Current temp is 9 with a -11 windchill. I’m tired of being cold! Call the weather waaambulance for me please.

  7. heideho says:

    The weather is rather bi-polar here too. We had snow yesterday, frost this morning and the current temperature is near 50. Your flowers are lovely though. How cool that PP is so close to being finished. Yeah you!

  8. Nora says:

    I love the flowers, temperatures notwithstanding.

Leave a Reply

