We may be having spring, or not

It was a beautiful weekend. In the high 50’s and low to mid 60’s. Just beautiful. I took the weekend off. OK. I did laundry and vacuumed and emptied the dishwasher and went to the library to get a book and tax forms. But, essentially, I took the weekend off. Oh, I did go to the grocery store and church Sunday morning. I went to the grocery store because Rachel has me hooked on making my very own laundry detergent. Her (I’m not really sure it’s actually hers)recipe is dead simple and works. Really works. But, I ran out of Fels Napthas soap.  My Mom used to put it in a coffee can on the stove and add a bit of water and cook the bar of soap into a disgusting goo.  The stuff took the hide off a rhinoceros, so it was great for spotting kid’s clothes.  Anyway,  I stopped at the grocery store for my Fels Naptha and, after church, came home and grated the bar and added one cup of washing soda and one cup of borax.  Stuff works great.  I use 4 tablespoons at a time, but I have a large capacity washing machine.  And, it is quite a bit less expensive (with no fillers) than anything else on the market.  The only problem I have with it is the smell.  It is quite intense.  I’m thinking about ways to alter the scent a bit.  I’ll report back when I figure it out.

march82009-006

Another blurry picture from the camera of KWP,too.  I hate when the sedum moves, don’t you?  Anyway, this is the beginnings of our Autumn Joy sedum.  I adore this plant because the flowers turn a beautiful bronze in the fall.  We have had bees die while extracting nectar because this is one of the few plants that continues to bloom until frost.  It’s a bizarre picture to walk out on a chilly late fall morning and find bees on the flowers of the sedum, dead from the cold.

There are no knitting pics today.  I spent my weekend knitting edging on PurplePi.  Peanut came by on Friday night and asked when I was going to be done with it.  I told her at least 10-15 more rows.  I’m thinking I’ll want more.  I just keep plugging along.  When it’s complete, I’ll be tickled to death, but she’s kept me company for so long now, I’m not sure I can give her up.  Yeah, right;–)

And, to start the week out right, how about the Grateful Dead and “Good Lovin”.  It takes 2 and a half minutes for the music to start.

Have a terrific Monday!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to We may be having spring, or not

  1. margene says:

    You have no idea how much I love the Dead. Your weekend sounds like a perfectly normal weekend and perfectly lovely. I need one like it to catch up with myself. Still have 10 loads of laundry to do!

  2. heideho says:

    I’m glad you had a “down” weekend. The laundry detergent recipe sounds wonderful. We’ve suffered bipolar weather out this way for the past month. I’ve given up all thoughts of planting anything. Hope you have a wonderful week.

  3. Emiko says:

    I had an alright weekend. Bear’s father’s condition has improved with each day, which is great news.

    Now if I could just get through this workweek already I’ll be somewhat content 🙂

    Have a great week.

  4. Joy says:

    I like the artistic soft focus sedum 😉 When you’re adding rows to Purple Pi, don’t forget it tends to *grow* when blocked/used – ask me how I know …

  5. Nora says:

    What a fabulous weekend off!

  6. marianne says:

    Our yard is too shady for the sedum, that has always made me sad.
    Oh yeah, making the laundry soap! I’ve been doing that for quite some time only I can’t get my hands on Fels Naphtha soap, instead I’ve used Colgate’s Octagon, grated and mixed with the soda and borax. It has a nice smell to it. I think. I also found some Zote today so I’ll probably make a batch with it next. I do mine dry. Some folks make a liquid. not me.
    Also… adding white vinegar to your rinse water will cut any remaining soap, makes your clothes even softer, and no, they don’t smell like a salad, just clean and fresh. (1/2 cup/large load). AND… I’ve used tennis balls in the dryer except I was having a bit of a problem with static so went to the BB&B store, they have some dryer balls, I got a couple, will use them soon. I have skin issues with so many products so no more laundry softeners blah blah blah… and the vinegar will cut most if not all residual soap. plus… it is Very Economically Friendly, this whole set up.
    Happy Monday!

  7. Rachel says:

    I swear I’m not a week behind in reading, just in commenting. Life this week has been challenging. My dad and sister are both in the hospital. Why couldn’t they be in the same one? They are in the two STL hospitals furthest from each other.

    I’m pretty sure you can substitute any other soap for the Fels Naptha, but I’m not sure how effective it will be. Maybe something strong like Irish spring? I might have to consult the internet for more ideas. I use two heaping tablespoons per large load and it seems to do okay. I do love it so much. I’m glad I got you hooked!

    Good luck with your taxes today. I hate doing mine.

Leave a Reply

