In review, spring was lovely.

It was 60F yesterday. It’s 38F this morning. We are to be at or below freezing for Tuesday. In expectation of dead blossoms, I picked tulips, hyacinths and daffodils like mad. Here’s what I ended up with…….
april52009-002

All from our yard.  I had to leave some.  It’s too dark to check on them now.  I also had a helper.

april52009-003

This helper has been in trouble this weekend.  The mastiff has come out and he has been trying my dominance at every turn.  I have stopped the behavior, but am having trouble reversing it.  We’ll see who wins this challenge.  Hint:  don’t put your money on the dog.

I also got 40 rows done on my Mystery Shawl.  I’m pleased now that I got it right the second time.  I’m a week behind, but that is nothing new.

april52009-005

Now, PurplePi.  I’m in a time out.  Not her this time, but me.  I am having a bit of difficulty locating the last ball of yarn.  It’s somewhere safe, I’m certain of that, but right now I can’t find it.  I was knitting Friday night and noticed I had about 4″ left for knitting.  Pooh.  I’ll look for it tonight when I get home.

We enjoyed the exhibit of “Sue” the T-Rex.  It’s actually a resin cast of the skeleton that is owned by the Field Museum in Chicago.  I was very very impressed.  The exhibit itself was aimed at kids, but the skeleton was more than impressive.  It gave me goosebumps.  I’m very grateful the chance of running into “her” are non-existent.  If “she” comes into your town, make an effort to see “her”.  I’m using quotation marks because they really don’t know if it’s a he or she.

On this wonderful Monday morning, my soundtrack is thus…..I love the musicianship of the Mamas & Papas.  This is “Trip, Stumble and Fall”.

Have a wonderful Monday!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to In review, spring was lovely.

  1. margene says:

    May you find the yarn quickly and squash the dog behavior faster than that!
    I thought your music of the day would be T-Rex after I read about the show. M&P are much better. 😉

  2. heideho says:

    The flowers from your yard are delightful and gorgeous! I’m printing the patterns for the KAL but casting on will have to wait until I’ve caught up with some of my other projects. I frogged and entire sweater last night… so it’s done. Spring is fighting off winter bravely and she’ll win.

  3. joyknits says:

    Pretty flowers – 2 nights of *cold* sure won’t help them!

    Can you redirect/distract the dog behavior and make something else more rewarding? I’ve been pretty impressed with the Positive Pets Rav group so far – it might be helpful.

    Good luck on finding the other ball of yarn – the darned things are way too good at hiding!

  4. Nora says:

    Poor flowers. They are so gorgeous!

    The mystery looks sort of like the Adamas pattern.

    Happy Monday!

  5. marianne says:

    Are you kidding? Between you and Grover? My bucks are on you, you’ve not brought him this far to wuss out (he’s just reached ‘that age’ hasn’t he ;^) pushing it…)
    Good luck finding that last skein, I’m always putting things in a safe spot and forgetting where the hell that safe spot was.
    Good going on the surprise shawl! I’m still tossing for yarn although it’s a bit on the back burner for the moment.
    Happy Mon…er…. TUESDAY, Sweets!

  6. Annie says:

    Gorgeous flowers! Hope you have some left.

    A place so safe you can’t find it. I so hear you on that one.

Leave a Reply

