It’s Randay Wednesom!

Hi there. It is still sprinter here. We expect spring to arrive to stay about 2 days before summer hits. We get summer here in April/May when the temps go to the 90’s for a few days before settling back into the approximately correct and/or normal temps (whatever the hell those may be).  The blossoms still look ok.  Thankfully.  I would be a tad upset if the flowers were trashed.

I found the last skein/ball of PurplePi yarn.

april72009-0011

I wish I’d found it in the flowering almond bush, but in reality I had it carefully stowed in a mega-baggy in the basement.  Now, I can boogey on with PurplePi.  I will need to watch the yarn useage now so that I don’t run out before finishing.

It’s already Wednesday.  I cannot believe how strange it is to work only four days a week.  I’m not really unhappy about it either.  The money loss will hurt for sure, but the time picked up will be (and has been) wonderful.  I just don’t know how long it will last.  Either the job or the 4-day weeks.  “What a long, strange trip it’s been.”

Grover has responded to my training.  I think I’m going to have to clarify something here.  Apparently, dominance is a bad word these days in the dog training world.  I have no idea why.  The dominant member of the pack rules.  I am not into animal cruelty or wrestling the dog down to prove dominance (of course, the idea of that makes me laugh until I wet my pants), but I believe that the one that controls the food is the dominant one.  I suppose there are those that would hurt their dog to prove dominance, but really?  I don’t think they are in the majority.  Most people get a dog.  Train it not to make a mess in the house.  Love it.  Feed it.  Enjoy the company.  Why must we think the worst? Maybe, it’s a societal problem.  We’re in a societal funk and everything and everybody is suspect.  WRONG!  I am not Suzy Sunshine, but I do think we can worry ourselves into a self-fulfilling prophecy situation.  Oh, crap.  I’m ranting.  I can get emotional and passionate about anything, so I guess I’d best back off.

And, to entertain you on this Wednesday in April, I foreshadowed the song in an earlier reference in the post.  Quick, can you guess what it is??????

I give you the Grateful Dead and “Truckin”.  Have a great one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to It’s Randay Wednesom!

  1. margene says:

    Everyone is happiest when they know the boundaries. You’re setting boundaries for Grover so you’ll be good companions. Loves me some truckin’!!

  2. Cookie says:

    I agree with Margene. Everyone needs to know what the rules are and follow them. That’s how society works.

    You are right. You are the boss. You’re the one with the thumbs, who is in charge of the food. You are the alpha of your little pack and Grover needs to know that. (Can you tell I used to do obedience with a terrier? *L*)

    Sadly, there are different schools of thought on training dogs and occasionally they have wildly different ideas on how you should teach Grover that you are the boss. I believe that’s where people start freaking out. He’s your dog and you know how best to train him.

    xo

  3. Nora says:

    Pretty purple! Don’t worry about the dog freaks… just do your thing.

  4. joyknits says:

    Hooray for Purple Pi – just knit faster so your yarn won’t run out 😉

    I think dominance has been given a bad name by the proponents of “Alpha Rolls” and such, like some other useful and formerly good words – hang in there!

  5. marianne says:

    Your Purple Pi yarn is SO pretty sitting there in the blossoms!
    As to Grover, snort…. he reminds me so much of Blue, not necessarily in looks per se (although his size and shape certainly) but Blue could be quite stubborn, alpha over the other dogs and really, wanted to be alpha over me but that just wasn’t going to happen… he would try his best :^) and he was never mean spirited… and I know Grover has that sweetness to him. I really do love that Cesar Dog Dude, he never hurts the dogs, but they get the message. I’ll never understand why some folks feel they need to inflict pain to teach and I hates it.
    I have full faith in you, you know what you’re doing, you’re a good pack leader :^)
    XOXOXOX

  6. Annie says:

    Thank you, thank you, thank you! I have one of those pink flowery bushes, (here when I moved in) and never knew what it was. Now I know. Flowering almond. The yarn is so pretty among the flowers.

  7. Rachel says:

    They’re dogs! Dogs run in packs. They understand pack behavior. They need to know who is boss. Dominance is what it is. I think other people must be bringing some of their own issues to the table.

Leave a Reply

