Friday announcement and rumination

IT’S FRIDAY AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! HURRAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WE ARE HAPPY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! YIPPEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Okey dokey. There ya go. Friday announcement all cheery like and happy. Of course, that’s how I feel. I was offered a full week next week, but I said I’d rather not. I like the four day week. It has made my time with my Mum much easier and more enjoyable. I accomplish more because I don’t feel so damnably pressed for time. The money part is painful, but I have reached a time in my life where I need to be realistic. I can work myself to death and have a few dollars more or enjoy my freedom a bit and not have to pay to have every little thing done.  I can cut my own grass which I did last night after having the lawnmower tuned up and the blade sharpened.  It’s amazing how something like that makes such a difference.  I didn’t mind the job at all.  I plan on cleaning and grocery shopping this morning and working in the yard in the afternoon.  Then, on Saturday, I will do laundry and watch the rain come down.  If the rain doesn’t come down, then I will work in the yard again.  See?  I’m happy.  Of course, I’m always happy when I can work in the yard.  It doesn’t hurt to be a happy soul.  I have an obscenely optimistic outlook on life.  Not all the time, but most of it.  I feel very grateful for all the things and people in my life and I don’t begrudge my job at all.  As long as it lasts and I can be useful, terrific.

So, I’ll bet everyone has seen Susan Boyle’s YouTube audition for “Britain’s Most Talented”.  Did it hit you the way it hit me?  This would not happen in the USA.  We seem incapable at the Hollywood level (and I worry about the basic level, as well) to have any humanity at all.  There is no question that Susan Boyle is dowdy and fashion-impaired.  She is also a fabulous example of the strength and endurance of the human spirit.    How she had to suck it up to get the courage to go on stage.  And, to stay on stage after the humiliation of the sneers and jeers.  To be mocked in her hometown by the children for her appearance.  Unemployed.  Damn.  She’s sure as hell my hero.  If, by chance, you’ve been in a cave.  This is her audition.  Watch it.  It’s worth it.

And, while you’re at it, check what the numbers say.  I haven’t ever seen a YouTube number that high.  Over 12 million views.

So, on that note.  Please be inspired and fearless.  Enjoy your weekend.  And, because I’m not a big Frank Lloyd Weber fan, here’s my weekend getaway song.  Alvin Lee and the band and “I Hear You Knockin”.

Have a great weekend.  See you on Monday.

Oh, I’m still working on PurplePi.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Friday announcement and rumination

  1. margene says:

    A four day week would be heaven and while the money is nice, you’ve found that time is worth more than money. Happy Weekend!!
    Yeah, give me Alvin over FLW any day! lol Oh my, how I loved Ten Years After!!

  2. heideho says:

    I’m glad that you’re enjoying the extra day with Mum. I watched the video and it made me obscenely happy. We all feel a little like Susan Boyle at some level and to see someone keep going who’s been mocked and shunned for not meeting others’ ideals is heart warming. You have a wonderful weekend. Give Mum a big, soggy hug from us here in Washington. Cheers!

  3. marianne says:

    I will admit here and now, watching Ms. Boyle on the news and then later viewing the youtube (which gave so much more), I was moved to tears. My first impression was this cute little middle aged woman… but hey, her carriage was spot on, her dress was lovely (more so than what a lot of ‘idol’ folks are wearing) (granted, the dark hosiery was a bit off), and she stood her ground with grace. Now there’s some real Beauty, and when she started singing?!?!? Exceptional.

    As to the first portion of your post? I love you.

  4. Joy says:

    You go girl – hugs!

  5. Peanut says:

    Totally not Andrew Lloyd Weber. Claude-Michel Schönberg, and Alain Boublil wrote it 😛

    Also, good for you living your life and standing your ground 🙂 I have faith in you. You will finish PurplePi!

Leave a Reply

